The Symantec/Norton Thread.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mayahana, Jan 21, 2015.

  1. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,035
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Active customers in legacy versions are being upgraded
     
  3. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,306
    CrowdStrike CEO: partners coming to us as Symantec ‘abandons’ many customers
    March 20, 2020
    https://www.crn.com.au/news/crowdst...us-as-symantec-abandons-many-customers-539604
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Norton Security 22.20.2.57 for Windows is now available!
     
  5. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,306
    Norton
    Announcing end of life for old product versions on Windows
    May 13, 2020
    https://community.norton.com/en/blo...ouncing-end-life-old-product-versions-windows
    This applies to the following versions:
    • 18.x (5.x for Norton 360)
    • 19.x (6.x for Norton 360)
    • 20.x
    • 21.x
    • 22.0 till 22.14.x
    This applies to the following products:
    • Norton Internet Security
    • Norton Antivirus
    • Norton 360
    • Norton 360 Multi-Device
    • Norton 360 Premier
    • Norton Security
    • Norton Security with Backup
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Norton Security 22.20.4.57 for Windows is now available!
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  8. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,244
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    What version of Norton comes with Comcast? I heard it is quite an outdated version of the program.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I believe the download is an old version but running Live Update and restarting as required until no more updates are found will give you the current / same version as the non free Norton.
     
  10. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,244
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    How many updates are required and why can't they just have an updated version available?
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Don't know and don't know. Sorry.
     
  12. RangerDanger

    RangerDanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Boston
    I have Norton Security Online with Comcast it is the latest version not an older version.It may require more than one restart although I have never had to do this.
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Norton Security 22.21.1.151 for Windows is now available!

    https://community.norton.com/en/blo...orton-security-22211151-windows-now-available
     
  15. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,853
    Is anyone here running Norton anymore?
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I just put it on one machine just to see how long it takes to bug me with pop ups.
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,853
    Keep us posted. Does it still want to install browser extensions?
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yep.
     
  19. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,035
    @Krusty I just updated, but don't have the Smart Scan feature yet. Then I read the release notes again, and it says it's only available in the US for now.
     
  20. Alexhousek

    Alexhousek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    USA--Colorado
    It doesn't automatically install those browser extensions. It strongly suggests them and encourages you to install them, but it is not automatic. You can choose, like me, to not install them.
     
  21. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,244
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    But as pointed out by @bjm_ elsewhere, and to tie into the other Norton thread:
     
  24. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,853
    Wow a whole 7 day trial and you need to give your card. :geek:
     
  25. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,314
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    They need that to get all your information so they can send spam by way of the Postal Service like they did to me.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.