The Symantec/Norton Thread.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mayahana, Jan 21, 2015.

  1. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    200
    Glad there is a person like Tavis that has the skills to test the code side of an antivirus product. I have tested Norton many times in a VM, and if I pay for security software it is going to be Norton, and I do have it installed on multiple computers right now. Tavis has found exploits with Kaspersky, Eset, and etc., so it's not just Norton. It's just Norton's turn, and I am glad he is doing it.
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Nah, not really, the heated norton debate started in another thread few days ago, read from this post onwards: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...has-been-released.364017/page-14#post-2598213

    And then it kind of moved into this thread with the exploit. But this thread IS about Norton at least while the above one is not. So Stapp did right to cut it off there.
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,606
    Location:
    USA
    Didn't see that one, don't use that product anymore. Interesting how products go in an out of favor.

    Anyway... I was seeing on the Norton forum (maybe it would be a better question there, but I expect more response here)... according to this link https://community.norton.com/en/comment/7056501#comment-7056501
    "Note: Norton 22.7 supports: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, 10 & Redstone"

    How can they claim Redstone support? Are they referring to the Insider builds? The final isn't done. Just wondering as I installed the latest Insider build today for testing in anticipation of the final. Seeing what's fixed and what still needs reported. Looks good so far. Is anyone running this on the Windows 10 Insider builds? If so, is it working without issue? I know other products I am licensed for are refusing to support it, and I agree with the reasoning, just wondering if I should install Norton or leave it off as these are still somewhat beta.
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,034
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,606
    Location:
    USA
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,034
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Only that it was tested by the beta testers using the latest insider builds at the time. Other than that I have no clue.
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,044
    I agree. I doubt the people who continue to bash Norton have tried their products recently. People have a bad opinion of Norton becuase they have not used their products since they caused major slowdowns, or they blindly listen to the opinions of others who say that they are really bad products.

    However, I would say that it has only been the past few years since their products have become really light. I remember installing the latest version of Norton 360 on a computer in 2009, after doing a clean install of Windows 7 after replacing a failed hard drive. Despite it being a fast laptop with plenty of RAM, Norton made it run slowly. Boot times where much longer, and at one point I was installing some software, and a self extracting RAR file was being extracted. This was running extremly slowly, with it taking a few seconds to extract each file. As soon as I disabled Norton's realtime protection, the extraction was very fast. Even more recently than that I have seen major slowdowns with Norton products. But, recent releases are some of the lightest security software there is.
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,583
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I stand by everything I said about Norton. It may have improved, but I had nine months of hell with it and my ISP eventually dropped it. I wouldn't run it as freeware.
     
  9. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    217
    Slows my surfing..was 29 bucks wasted? windows 10 4gb ram..quad core!
     
  10. Crystal_Lake_Camper

    Crystal_Lake_Camper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    120
    I also have 4 gigs of ram and it does not slow me dow. when I have my VPN client on it is slow just a little bit.
     
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,044
    That's why you should never buy any security software without trying it first. An antivirus which works well on one computer, may cause noticable slowdowns on another.
     
  12. Agree, exactly what product trials were made for. When i see A vs B threads, i always tell the OP to test both themselves on their system, to see if the product works for them, their uses, system resources and knowledge levels.
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,034
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Also, what AV was installed before Norton? How was it removed? Any other security software installed?

    They offer a 60 day refund policy if you need to use it.
     
  14. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    "Always try before you buy" How many times have we said it on here, lol.
     
  15. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,006
    Location:
    .
    adding to #688 see Refunds page for Norton refund instructions, Norton Return Policy
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2016
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,606
    Location:
    USA
    I find it slows my surfing as well. It seems to entirely be the browser plugins. You can disable them and get the speed back. Not entirely sure how much protection you lose.
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,859
    Same here agree with Jack.
     
  18. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    Introducing New Linux-based Norton Bootable Recovery Tool 2016.1.0
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2016
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,034
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Norton 22.7.1 Product Update available now
     
  20. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    217
    I uninstalled Norton standard and added bit defender..A Norton tech remotely put Norton back on and told me to leave bitdefender on also..what's the deal?
     
  21. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,622
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    WHAH?

    Did you contact Norton Support and ask them to reinstall Norton?

    Norton Support would never reinstall NS without your requesting it.

    No one in their right mind would tell you to run NS and BD together. I doubt NS would even install from your Norton Account without telling you to uninstall BD. Is that why you contacted Norton Support, if you did, to have them install NS with BD previously installed?

    Post your question here:

    https://community.norton.com/forums/norton-security

    I look forward to reading the Norton Gurus responses.

    Without knowing more, this seems totally bizarre.

    From the facts you have presented, this reads like an episode of "The Twilight Zone."

    Which do you want to use NS or BD? Decide and uninstall both with the appropriate brand removal tool and do a clean install of the program you want to use. After both are uninstalled check your Windows Firewall and make certain it is on. If you decide to go with Norton, after installation do a few Live Updates to make certain you have the latest version (Norton 22.7.1.32 )which was released a couple of weeks ago.

    Norton Removal Tool: ftp://ftp.symantec.com/public/english_us_canada/removal_tools/NRnR.exe

    BD Removal Tool: http://www.bitdefender.com/site/view/uninstall_consumer_paid.html
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2016
  22. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    217
    it was indian guy for sure
     
  23. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,622
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Well that should not surprise you, BUT, DID YOU ASK NORTON SUPPORT TO DO ITo_O and are you certain you contacted the Official Norton Support?

    Do yourself a favor and post your isssue here: https://community.norton.com/forums/norton-security
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,034
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    ... And / or contact the official Norton Support here - www.norton.com/chat

    hawki is correct. Norton Support would never suggest leaving BD on and install NS too.
     
  25. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    217
    Yes I did and he asked if he could reinstall Norton
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.