The Symantec/Norton Thread.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mayahana, Jan 21, 2015.

  1. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    Yeah, I setup KeyPass in Firefox and Chrome a while back...just in case.
    I'm not liking toolbars. So, KeyPass works for me.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,912
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Exactly! They should of had this sorted by now.
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,912
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Norton 22.5.4 Product Update available now
     
  4. Cloudcroft

    Cloudcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    The Hill Country of Texas
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2015
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,912
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hi Cloudcroft,

    Try running Live Update again. Like most patches from Norton lately, it comes in two parts.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,912
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  7. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,293
  8. vincenzo

    vincenzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    I've got FF ver. 41.0.1 and NIS v. 22.5.4.24 but today it gives a message that the Norton plugin 2015.5.4.10 could not be verified for use, and is disabled.

    Note: edited to correct version information.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2015
  9. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,293
    Whats the difference now between Norton Security and Norton Antivirus/Internet Security (22.5)? With the Windows 10 release patch, they seem to be the same product with similar interfaces ...

    Why Symantec simple doesnt migrate everyone to Norton Security to streamline the portfolio? That was the plan right?
     
  10. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,603
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  11. vincenzo

    vincenzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    Thanks for the info.
    Do you know if the computer is still protected from malicious websites (ie the Browser Protection) if the Toolbar is disabled?
     
  12. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    You will still have protection for in-browser attacks/drive-by-downloads and protection for malicious downloads (downloads done in the browser gets scanned and you will have Download Insight protection).

    You will not have Norton protection for phishing/scam websites - you will have Firefox built-in Phishing and Malware Protection.

    You will not have SafeWeb markups that can warn you away from dangerous pages - however you can opt to temporarily use Norton SafeSearch via Firefox searchbar or http://nortonsafe.search.ask.com/web - it will supply warning markup on search results for you without the Norton toolbar.

    You can also use Norton ConnectSafeDNS that employs Norton SafeWeb criteria. So, you'll have Norton page blocks via ConnectSafe.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2015
  13. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,603
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Mcafee's free SiteAdviser will fill in the blanks left by ConnectSafe, i.e., it will show if a link in a search result is safe and warn about phising sites.

    I used it with EMIS 10 this week and it worked well. (Emisoft does not "greendot" search results.)

    http://home.mcafee.com/root/landingpage.aspx?lpname=get-it-now&affid=0&cid=170789
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    Hey hawki,
    Yeah, I tried SiteAdviser free version awhile back and as I recall. Seemed to push fee version.
    I'm not a fan of Norton SafeWeb (static historical reputation).
     
  15. vincenzo

    vincenzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    Thanks for the info.
    While the loss of SafeWeb markups seems concerning, I read a while back on the Norton forum that if you try to go to a site that SafeWeb would normally flag as dangerous, that you will get a Norton popup warning you not to go there, even if the Norton Toolbar is not installed. Have you ever heard that?

    Thanks
     
  16. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    Not by my experience. I don't run Norton Toolbar in primary browser. I'll run alternate browser to see mal/phish page block. YMMV
    ConnectSafeDNS, I'll see page block. Firefox has native page block.
    Or, WOT renders page block n' may satisfy short term.
    Maybe, Mcafee's free SiteAdviser. #463 Other 'security' offer website tools.
    eg: http://www.bitdefender.com/solutions/trafficlight.html
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2015
  17. rainbow1112

    rainbow1112 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    77
    My Subscription is expiring in 14 days..

    any cheap norton security for 5 devices?
     
  18. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,603
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Bad week to be looking for this. Have not seen any Super Specials, but Amazon is selling it for $39.95.

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_nr_n_1?fst=as%3Aoff&rh=n%3A229534%2Cp_n_feature_browse-bin%3A388154011%2Cn%3A!491286%2Cn%3A229677&bbn=491286&ie=UTF8&qid=1444672389&rnid=491286refinements=p_n_feature_browse-bin%3A388154011refinements=p_n_feature_browse-bin%3A388154011bbn=491286&ie=UTF8&qid=1444672389&rnid=491286
     
  19. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    Amazon.co.uk $40 dollars
     
  20. vincenzo

    vincenzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    OK thanks, good to know FF offers built in protection.
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,912
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  22. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    just renewed mine direct with norton,£22,originally they said £49 but after I told them I would cancel and move to a cheaper product they reduced it under 1/2 price!was cheaper than amazon or anywhere else
     
  23. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,603
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  24. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,603
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Thanks for the Traffic Light Link bjm. But I'm sticking with my 6 month free trial of BD IS 2016 at least for now.
     
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,912
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yep! That's coming soon, and hopefully when it is finished it will be more like the toolbar in IE and Chrome, not needing to be updated every six weeks when FF is upgraded.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.