The newest Ad-Aware Beta has arrived!

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by quanzi_1507, Jun 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Will update screenshots ASAP :D

    Code:
    http://link.lavasoft.com/u.d?dYGtTalT4tyrX_8hODxs=41
     
  2. crysty2k5

    crysty2k5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    No betas found. :(
     
  3. VincenZ

    VincenZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Check the beta page, Ad-Aware_Beta.exe is available now (77mb).
     
  4. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    Jeepers how it's evolved over the years ! Seems like a name change might help, as it appears to be a lot more than just an AD blocker now.
     
  5. Dr who

    Dr who Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Posts:
    46
    Oink oink what a bloater:blink: :argh: :eek:
     
  6. ejames82

    ejames82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    156
    i've always liked the scanner (anniversary edition) for on-demand purposes, but it's been hard to keep track of what they're (lavasoft) doing next, or how to use it. i used to check the service in the msconfig when i wanted to update signatures because the gui wouldn't come up otherwise. then i would uncheck the box when i was finished. not quite as easy as malwarebytes, superantispyware, or spybot. still not bad since it's free.
     
  7. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    .
    It will be interesting to hear how this new version performs. Ad-Aware went through a stretch where it seemed utterly useless to me. Hopefully it has teeth again.
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    is it going to be free after beta time?thanks
     
  9. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    If they don't change their way of doing things, then there will be a free and paid version, just as been happening so far.
     
  10. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Yes, sad enough, the latest before this (Anniversary) running as a free version didn't provide (effective) enough protection to satisfy me and felt heavy. This might have been because, atleast I think, it's in a VM - but overall I didn't like it to sum it up.

    Hehe... noone has actually been testing the software - only speculations have been made so far. :D

    I might have done it myself if I wasn't off to test others. :D
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    @raven i tried the anniversary version and it was very very very heavy on resorces/memory it is a pig:) for my xp2 pc so i promised to me never tried their prodcuts again it was worse than a virus it's self:D but i dont know about this one that's why i asked:)
     
  12. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Yeah ofc - we can always hope they've improved, that it's effective in its protection/detection and runs great alongside other products. :) (Actually, to be honest, I'll need it to do all that if I'll ever consider running it again. :D :D)
     
  13. progress

    progress Guest

    Here too :( Ad-Aware SE was a great tool but Ad-Aware 2007/2008/AE are resource hogs :thumbd:
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    that is true:D
     
  15. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Who cares about resources when you use it as a freebie for on demand check.
     
  16. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Not really true if you've tried AE - it's basic real-time protection which was the only thing that was interesting in it. Then, if you do run it as an On-Demand scanner - you've the heavy process lying in the background anyway, ruining everything that made you even consider using Ad-Aware as On-Demand. This wasn't just the case with AE, but from 2007-edition or so and forward as well. That it lost its effectivity long ago made it completely useless just because of it. (I do hate software having a useless service or process like that when only being On-Demand - it's completely retarded IMHO...)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.