The new version of Kaspersky® Anti-Virus is described as 'good'

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bigc73542, Jun 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Original Source: http://www.kaspersky.com/news?id=149168131

     
  2. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    I just came across this @ Rokop.

    Link
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I don't read much german but the results look pretty good.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2004
  4. SKA

    SKA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Posts:
    154
    >fast, resource-conserving .... Moreover, Kaspersky Anti-Virus does not hog system resources: even selecting maximal protection creates minimal system load.<

    Really ? How come so many peeps at useice,DSLR etc. not agree with this
    & remain w/4.5.0.94 ?

    SKA
     
  5. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    It's about half and half.

    I question whether or not they did a good job cleaning out leftover reg keys and dlls before installing.
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Everyone that test's these things always come up with just a little different conclusions. And it depends on what system the said product was tested on and quite a few other factors. So there are always going to be different opinions on any tested piece of software.
     
  7. Trans

    Trans Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    It REALLY happens !
    I have two different experiences with KAV 4.5.0.95.
    I didn't like it at a WinME system and found it very good at a faster PC
    with XP pro.
    In fact it had better behaviour than DrWeb ....

    (There were no previous KAV installations anyway.)
     
  8. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    Its to do with how configurable the current version of 5 is more than anything else,its not as good as 4.5 in this respect at the moment and I for 1 am waiting for the 5.0 pro version which is supposed to correct this!
     
  9. SKA

    SKA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Posts:
    154
    Thanks guys for yr advice/comments !

    PC runs Win98SE as user awaiting XP SP2 release, now using NODv2(no
    NODSE ext).

    I have following questions:
    When tried last to import user's Eudora 6.1.1. mbx files into Bat 2.11, KAV 4.5.0.95 deleted the full mbx files claiming v's in them !

    Has this changed in v5 of KAv Personal, ie. can KAV 5.0 parse the individual emails inside Eudora's mbx files and delete just infected emails and attachments without deleting entire mbx file(s) ?

    If anyone uses Eudora & KAV Personal 4.5 and gone to 5.0 I would appreciate some comments on this - thanks !

    SKA
     
  10. Brice

    Brice Guest

    KAV5 has the configurations, they just hide them under "Troubleshooting" button in it.. Give it a try and see.
     
  11. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    I disagree. There isn't too much there, especially when compared to Pro.
     
  12. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    Still very limited compared to 4.5 at the moment,I feel they have tried to go along the line of making it user friendly but have gone too far that way.
    The main thing missing,as far as I am concerned, is the inability to have scanner scan downloaded files directly from download manager,due no doubt to the scanner being an intregal part of program rather than a module as in earlier versions(ie no seperate exe file to launch scanner alone)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.