The latest ZoneAlarm® Firewall release is 12.0.104.000.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by NICK ADSL UK, Nov 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
  2. SnowFlakes

    SnowFlakes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Posts:
    194
    how come it says i have the latest update when i search for new updates ZoneAlarm free ?

    and i still have version: 11.0.780.000 ?
     
  3. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    well Marcus that does happen from time to time' it looks like you will have to update this build manually
     
  4. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    Is this version still hijacking my first page in the browser and injecting my browser with a toolbar. ?!
    Still making the network traffic work in slow motion ?!
    Tested the previous version on a virgin Windows installation and i was unpleansantly surprised in spite of the new interface.

    So will this firewall ever get back to what it was some years ago or the free version is simply made just to be on the market ?!
     
  5. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,727
    Location:
    localhost
    For the toolbar part just push on "SKIP ALL" (if you look hard enough... you will see it ;) )... The rest I am afraid its system/program dependent. Doesn't work on slow motion here but each system is different. Anyway, there are plenty of free firewalls out there... not need to stress yourself with ZA if it does not work for you :)
     
  6. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    works fine for me - no slowdown. i did install it with the 'skip all' option though and without the antivirus component (I use Qihu 360 instead). obviously YMMV, so only way to know is to try it on your system -- just make a backup before you try and restore if you don't like it since antivirus and firewall programs are notorious for being difficult to uninstall (although I'm not saying that's necessarily the case with ZoneAlarm).
     
  7. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    At install for the free you are invited to do this ,not checking the first time you are offered leads you to the second window where you need to check them all or one of them for the agree to get yellow and allow you to continue with the installation.So the stuff need to get in to use it.

    zonealarm.jpg
     
  8. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,727
    Location:
    localhost
  9. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    LOL that Skip all is so small and unobservable :)
    Next time they should make it even smaller. :)
    I simply did not saw the skip all ,it s not some trolling fax.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2013
  10. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,727
    Location:
    localhost
    You're welcome! :thumb:
    I guess its by design :D
     
  11. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    :) i have looked carefully for the option you mentioned in this thread at install and seen it only after this morning I ve checked the thread ,in the picture i ve made myself .:)
    At least it is there. :)

    Installed the Pro version as i have found a offline installer.
    The Block traffic feature seems to work at boot up opposed to Outpost

    Now i ll see if ZoneAlarm does the old good machine freezing :)
    Furthermore i like the DEFAULT Game Mode policy approach opposed to the Allow Most in Outpost while in Enterteinment mode.
    You practically choose to block or allow what you can t answer to.

    Edit:I have observed the same slow page loading while surfing as with the toolbars installed.Outpost loads faster and with web filtering on.
    Also a lot of connectivity to some german server ,legit zonealarm update server of some sort I suppose , when using the interface ,at start up and shut down of the machine.
    Also by default a lot of inbound from untrusted allowed for windows services ,hmm :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2013
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,924
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Victek, the screenshot is shown in this Post.

    If you look at the lower right hand corner of the first image, above CheckPoint, you'll see "Skip all offers" in blue, small letters.
     
  14. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, I'm finally seeing the tiny, low contrast "skip all offers" link. I have to say that making it so hard to see is not really honoring the right to "opt out".
     
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,924
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Yeah, they don't make it easy, but at the very least, it's there! :)
     
  16. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    web browsing is very slow for me .:gack: :rolleyes: :oops: :oops:
     
  17. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,727
    Location:
    localhost
    UNcheck the web scanning and see if it helps...
     
  18. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    another example of having to disable a component to get a software to work, very shoddy indeed :thumbd:
     
  19. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,727
    Location:
    localhost
    Yeah... It works best offline - that is called troubleshooting idiot... :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2014
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.