The forum has moved, and you are here!

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by LowWaterMark, Mar 9, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,873
    Location:
    New England
    The forum downtime has started.

    This copy of the forum is in read-only mode.

    Everyone can read existing threads, but, only forum staff can post.

    The new server will be up soon and everything there will be back to normal posting capabilities.
     
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  3. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,043
    Great! Will there be any changes in forum itself also?

    hqsec
     
  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,873
    Location:
    New England
    Not at this time. This move was specifically for improvements in server hosting. We're on a bigger server with better bandwidth.

    Hint, hint: Newer model CPUs. Extra RAM. All SSD storage. Better network connection... Should be fast. We'll see.
     
  5. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,043
    :thumb: Yes loading pages seems quicker. Don't know if hosts file helps there also...

    hqsec
     
  6. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,124
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Right on hello all ;)
     
  7. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe

    Also to me. Great work. :thumb:
     
  8. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Thanks Mike :thumb:

    (changed the IP address in my hosts file)
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2014
  9. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,043
    I've removed hosts file entries. Navigating through forum is still quicker than it was before. Great work!

    hqsec
     
  10. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Good job :thumb:
     
  11. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Thanks very much for the upgrade :thumb: Like the new tab icon :D
     

    Attached Files:

  12. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,873
    Location:
    New England
    So, that's where Pixel got to. I thought he got lost in the move. :D *puppy*

    That's actually temporary. I needed a quick way to tell which server I had windows opened on while accessing both the old and new websites at the same time. I'll be setting that back to the vBulletin logo after a while.
     
  13. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    HaHa...thanks, that's great LWM :)
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,873
    I had trouble editing the 'hosts file' to get those two new lines to accept:

    107.170.53.243 wilderssecurity.com
    107.170.53.243 www.wilderssecurity.com

    Then I worked out it was my security preventing the change, i.e. WSA

    But, I finally made it to the new server. :D
     
  15. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,591
    I wasn't getting in on a straight VPN using windows. Jumped on TOR in linux VM without touching my windows 7 hosts file at all. My hosts file is set to only allow my VPN's resolution nothing else. Https connecton here and immediately in with TOR. Hmmmmm?
     
  16. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    I get going late enough that I didn't even have to mess with Hosts, DNS was already updated. I agree with the others, navigation does seem faster now, nice job. :thumb:
     
  17. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Nice job, feels snappy, and I like the interior in our new home as well it looks a lot like the old one wich I liked very much :D
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2014
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I always had that favicon! Sorry not with pixel in it! So far so good Mike great job!

    Daniel ;)
     
  19. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,873
    Location:
    New England
    I am liking it. SSD on server class machines is really something to see.
     
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great SSD! You must use SSD's on your PC's? There Great! Have to find a new Bottleneck now. LOL

    Daniel :D
     
  21. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    758
    Location:
    MICHIGAN,USA
    What was the purpose of the move?
     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  23. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,873
    I remember the previous move to a new server was made in June 2011, because there were problems with members accessing Wilders. Described here

    I don't know the reason for this move.
     
  24. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    Does this mean we will finally see an update to the back end software (Linux, Apache) and thus and update to OpenSSL and the protocols Wilders supports?
     
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I had to do a Modem/Router reboot as I was getting the old site from time to time just in case others have this issue.

    Daniel ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.