Testing method for a new AV?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by asyland, Jun 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. asyland

asyland Registered Member

I must admit I am a relative newb when it comes to antivirus, at least compared to most of the people here. I am currently searching for a new AV, dumping CA etrust ( it's what came with my ZA firewall). I've done some research (primarily here, av-comparitives, av test.org, and VB), and narrowed my choice down to three: KAV, NOD32, and G-Data. I've downloaded all 3, and I'm going to run them all, to judge for myself, and to avoid being one of those people who pop into a forum and ask the members to "pick out something pretty for me". My questions are: how long do you normally test out an AV? What sort of tests (other than on demand scanning, of course) do you put them through?
    I've heard that KAV has an excellent outbreak-response time (1-2 hrs). I couldn't find response times on the other two.
    At av comparitives, G-Data had the best overall detection rate for on demand detection (99.89%), while NOD32 had the best proactive detection of new samples (58%)
    I've also read that G-Data's scan time can be excruciatingly slow, up to an hour on a home PC (The New Virus Fighters-PC World w/AV Test.org)
    Last I should mention that while detection rate, success in cleaning detected malware, and response time to new threats are of primary importance, I use my computer for gaming, so I count resource usage as an important secondary consideration. I currently have a P4 3.4 GHz HT CPU, and 2 gigs of RAM.
    I apologize for the length of this post, but I did not want to stumble in your front door and ask you to make my choice for me. Your views on effective AV testing (what to look for), and any thoughts in general on these three (or other if you feel I've overlooked a good program), would be truly appreciated.
    All the best.

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member