Tested Several AV's

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by DVD+R, Oct 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DVD+R

DVD+R Registered Member

I tested several AV's over the last week, AntiVir Personal Premium (Didnt like the Splash Screen (Personal Preference) starting up on my desktop when windows stats or I'd have bought a 5 year subscription. AVG 7.5 Did a Full System Scan with all the bells and whistles enabled, and it only scanned 57266 files, too few for a full system scan in my opinion. NOD32 I have a 2 yr subscription, but after reading the NOD32 forum, I kicked it out, it seemed too quiet, and never reported a virus, although after testing with other AV's I found out there was one. Kaspersky 6. I found to be very adequate, but rather expensive to buy, ( the pig squeeling noise when it murders a virus scared the crap outta me, I nearly fell of my chair once, cause i had the volume up when it did it!) and I couldnt find a 2 year subscription either. So it boils down to this....... I Got Myself BitDefender v10, as good as it gets in my opinion, regardless of anything else.
    To throw in a couple of extra security specs I got AVG Ant-Spyware 7.5, seems a reliable sort, and found a backdoor loader on first scan. I asked AVG and they kindly let me subscribe untill 2009:) As did Webroot Spysweeper I have that till 2009 also, and to tie up the parcel with fancy bows and ribbons, I have Outpost 4.0 on a Lifetime Licence.. Any feedback would be great, tell me what you think, and what you thought on other programs you tried and tested, and did, or did not like :thumb: or :thumbd:

2. trjam

trjam Registered Member

shame, personally dont like Bit, did the beta, wish you had sent me a pm, I could get you a good deal on a 2 year license to Kas.

3. tobacco

tobacco Frequent Poster

And long term licenses, IMO, are not the way to go:thumbd: . You just never know what's going to happen.

4. Littlemutt

Littlemutt Guest