Test your browser

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by bellgamin, Mar 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Test your browser's max connections at...
    THIS site.

    K-meleon loaded the full complement of pictures on my computer. Firefox loaded much fewer.

    This doesn't necessarily mean that one browser is better than another BECAUSE of max connections. It's just something to know & ponder (if it is your wont to ponder.)
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    NOTE: If you are on a slow-connection (e.g. dial-up) you do NOT want very many simultaneous server connections. REASON: in pages with multiple large images, the pixels of that many images coming in via a slow connection will cause your browser to become very sluggish.

    Dial-up users might want to adjust the max-connections-per-server to 2 or 3. Two or three images loading at a time should feel much faster.

    By the way, those who configure their browser's max number of connections to a server beyond reasonable limits are in effect launching a small denial of service attack against a server.

    This point is well understood in the realm of download managers, where using a very large number of connections for large files is just plain greedy. Many servers limit the number of connections for these reasons, & some refuse being accessed by download managers altogether.
     
  2. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    What version ? I'm on v3.0.13 and this is what i see :D

    ct.gif
     
  3. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I am using FF Ver 3.6.2.

    When I want max security I use FF with Noscript & Safe Online (or sometimes Zemana Antilogger).

    When I am surfing for pleasure & want max speed I use K-meleon (or sometimes Chrome+).
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    As to settings for max connections, speeding up, minimalizing, etc etc etc...

    1- In FF's address bar, enter "about:config" (without the quotes) & you will see the myriad of configuration settings that guide FF's actions.

    1a- On that screen --- in the "Filter" box --- you can enter the name of any setting you want to locate (IF you know its name, of course).

    1b- For example, enter "max-connections" (without the quotes) & you will see FF's settings that are being discussed in this thread.

    1c- By the way, this same method also works for K-meleon.

    2- You can tweak these settings to greatly increase the speed of your FF or K-mel browser -- if you know what you're doing or have a good teacher.

    2a- Want a good teacher? Go HERE. (For instance). This tweak guide covers a plethora of FF settings. The deeper stuff starts on Page 10.

    2b- As to K-mel, you can tweak it even more than FF -- the guide for doing so begins HERE.

    3- With skilled & patient tweaking, K-mel on my machine is MUCH faster than Chrome+ or Opera 10x.
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,291
    Location:
    England
    Opera 10.01 loaded them all, IE8 didn't load them all for me.

    Interesting site bellgamin
     
  5. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @bellgamin

    Gotcha, thought you were complaining at first :D
     
  6. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    How about Opera 10.51? Opera now uses 16 connections to server by default and 32 max.
     
  7. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Chrome failed to load more than half of them (in 9460 ms), that kinds of explain, what happens sometimes, when it fails to load some webpages.
     
  8. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    What is the test time?
    Mrk
     
  9. DonMartin

    DonMartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    In my house
    FF ver 3.6.2 loads all in 9731 ms (average in 10 tries.)
    Best 8436 mS and worst 12135 mS.

    /Don
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2010
  10. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Confirmed, Chrome barely loaded any. Maybe it does explain some pages not loading correctly, never thought of that.
     
  11. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Me neither. It may have loaded about a tenth of all possible.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.