Test your Browser Rendering speed(page load)..

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by harsha_mic, Jun 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    Hi All,

    Today, i came across an very interesting website which allows to measure website page load (rendering) speed. It is webwait.com

    Find the attached screenshots for IE9,FF 4.0.1,Chrome 12.

    I think, chrome's process isolation and webpage pre-rendering makes it snappier than firefox.

    Note: Sorry i mistakenly removed FF'x first run of cnn.com site.

    Thanks,
    Harsha
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Obviously Firefox blew them away. However, while a test site like webwait can give some indication of performance, there are far too many variables that will come into play daily.
     
  3. ipkonfig

    ipkonfig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    The service tested -http://mahemoff.com/- which is apparently a malicious website according to Norton DNS.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 17, 2011
  4. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Interesting, neither MBAM or Avast said a word about it.
     
  5. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Only Norton and Browser Defender (from same company) detects this.
     
  6. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    wow!! thats an interesting thing.


    Yes, this just determines just a page load performance. Mainly process isolation is major drawback for current firefox. Hope Electrolosys comes by EOD this year.
     
  7. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Would it matter that Chrome has ABP enabled whereas it is not clear that it is enabled (or not) in Fx.
     
  8. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    Yes both (Fx and Chrome) have ABP enabled (but Fx ABP would have more rules than chrome's ABP rules..i guess) and in IE tracking filtering is switched on (fanboy's list).
     
  9. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Whether a browser renders + or - a second isn't important to me. The fact that my FF took 26 seconds to load cold on my old computer, and takes 4 seconds on my new computer is what interests me. :D
     
  10. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
  11. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    i guess its what addons make firefox slower startup. i don't have that problem. i just have one addon and it takes me around 4 sec for a cold start... :)

    try creating a new profile in your old computer and see if that makes a difference...
     
  12. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    MBAM never says something about a domain name.
    According to IPVoid the IP is clean.

    Gerard
     

    Attached Files:

    • IP17.png
      IP17.png
      File size:
      11.1 KB
      Views:
      985
  13. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    would loading webwait.com is triggering any alerts for any one? I don't have alerts showing up. I guess it is only with mahemoff.com which is shown as defualt entry in the webwait.com

    b/w i use Norton DNS.
     
  14. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I allowed both websites in Noscript last night, and never once got redirected or hit with anything. MBAM would have blocked the website from loading even if Avast didn't. Whatever was there is gone..and here again is why I don't like these DNS services.

    Edit: P.S, I'm behind Sandboxie so I wasn't that worried to begin with.
     
  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Not me. After startup, browser rendering speed is very important. Imagine every website 26 seconds slower. Just looking at the sheer numbers proves what is more crucial.

    harsha_mic do you remember the CNN load time? Can you test it again?
     
  16. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Let's be realistic though, 26 second website loading time is an indication there is a lot more going on than browser rendering issues. Dial up aside, if 5 or 6 seconds is too much time for someone, they should probably get out a bit more.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.