test sorry im trying to post and dont work

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by Ben, Aug 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ben

    Ben Guest

    test
     
  2. Ben

    Ben Guest

    aight: I got PE as a gift..

    ..from my sister, because I don't have a CCard and she got it for me.

    Now she freaks, her name is on the upper bar of the proggie and she freaks, says she dont want her name on my crappy PC and she wonders how her info is used at umm PE.

    How can we deal with this?
     
  3. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hello Ben, welcome to the forum!

    You're received loud and clear, very readable.

    If the PE was for you, she can email sales@diamondcs.com.au with the information, date and email address she used at buying the software and on whose name and email account it should be.
    You'll probably get sent a new key and serial maybe, so please do this asap, and all will be solved soon.
    Your sister's info will not be broadcasted on internet, nor is yours, but it's nicer to have it on your own name also in case of update info etc.
     
  4. DolfTraanberg

    DolfTraanberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    676
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    RE: I got PE as a gift..

    Hi Ben, and welcome
    I think you need to get in tough with support@diamondcs.com.au
    to explain you position, or buy a decent PC :D
    Dolf
     
  5. Ben

    Ben Guest

    oi ok Dollefie, now I got a second question

    Im using Trend PCCillin and one of its components takes care of POP3 and mail issues.

    PE lists it on a red line as trojan I would understand.

    Why would this be? Is a legit proggie
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Didn't your sister even get you a nice PC with it to suit her name? tsss tsss what are sisters for huh?
    Anyway, congratulations with the nice software and let's see if the "crappy" pc can be turned in a decent one anyway with some configuration?
    What seems wrong with it anyway?
    Oh ehh and don't worry Dollefie and i gave different addresses to send the info to, the people overthere work so nicely together it's always solved in the best way.

    For other readers with such a problem:
    in case of buying software for somebody else, please tell this in the comment when buying so the right key, serial, members area, unlockcode are all made immediately on the right name.
    It could be just a little change but it can mean more to do for the new coding etc.
    Looking forward to your positive replies from DCS.
     
  7. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    If the icon is only in the systray and the program window is not opened, you'll see it as a red process; you'll see it changing back black when you click the icon and/or open the window. Right?

    Which windows version are you using?

    And Ben: you might like to join as a member to this forum!
    Gives you a face and possibility to send/receive IMs and at times there is a large giveaway for software for registered members.
     
  8. Ben

    Ben Guest

    hi Jooske

    Thanks for the replies.

    Well I got into WinXP Home, a little hard to manoeuver around, and I am doing an orientation on it.

    Learning about processes, services..etc.

    Well, I got chuckling a little at PE is a nice proggie, it got me going with my research.

    I had jumped on TamoSoft before, I know that company for long time, but their Essential NetTools are bland, same at netstat..not much info milking there.

    DCS is indeed a good educative tool, for example it got me now into learning about Network Time Protocol only because I have noticed it uses port 123 and I thought I bumped into a Net Controller.

    If I am at questions, do you got an idea where can I get pid info, or should I go by MD5 identification?

    Ben
     
  9. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    There is an area on the registration page that allows you to specify if it is a gift/and the name you want the program to be registered in. Maybe your sister missed it though. Gavin should send you out a changed license though that hopefully will solve this problem :D .

    -Jason-
     
  10. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    Re:hi Jooske

    Hi Ben,
    I suppose you have to search for information only by process name, or - as in the case of svchost.exe - by taking a look at the commandline used to invoke the process and see what the parameters have been.
    You can find out a lot of information in PE right away, for more information, you can use the Faber toys, SpyBot's FileAlyzer, DCS's APM and Sysinternals' Process Explorer - these should get you started. In most cases, it will be enough to know the process name to examine the process in another tool, sometimes you will have to use the PID given in PE - if there are several processes with the same name.
    If i remember additional tools (or if other people do), i will post them here as well.
    Here are the urls:

    Faber Toys: http://www.faberbox.com/fabertoys.asp
    APM: http://www.diamondcs.com.au/index.php?page=apm
    ProcessExplorer: http://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/freeware/procexp.shtml
    FileAlyzer: http://security.kolla.de/index.php?lang=en&page=tools/filealyzer
    (APM, ProcessExplorer and FileAlyzer offering rather in-depth and technical information, but it can't hurt to have a look)

    HTHH,
    Andreas

    PS. md5 checksums are actually only used to verify that the file has not been tampered with and is still the same file that it's supposed to be (i.e. that it was on installation/distribution).

    Edit: changed the url to reflect filealyzer's main page[/url]
     
  11. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I just remembered that in WormGuard4 I have it logging processes so here is some info from one of my logs regarding svchost starting up at boot. :-


    TIME: 14:58:39 - ( 02:58PM )
    FILENAME: D:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    CMD LINE: D:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe -k netsvcs

    TIME: 14:58:39 - ( 02:58PM )
    FILENAME: D:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    CMD LINE: D:\WINNT\system32\svchost -k rpcss

    TIME: 14:59:01 - ( 02:59PM )
    FILENAME: D:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    CMD LINE: D:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe -k NetworkService

    TIME: 14:59:29 - ( 02:59PM )
    FILENAME: D:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    CMD LINE: D:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe -k LocalService


    So I guess all you need is a program which tells you the command line of the program. If WG4 was released you could use that also I guess based on time started :) . Hope that helps somewhat.


    -Jason-
     
  12. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Jason, You little teaser you!!! :D
     
  13. Ben

    Ben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Re:test sorry ..thank you Jason, and Andreas

    Good stuff, helps a lot in my research, thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.