Terabyte's Newsgroup Moving Soon

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheKid7, Aug 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Terabyte's Newsgroup Moving Soon:
     
  2. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Thanks for posting that...I had no idea.
     
  3. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,098
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ooo, TeraByte has a forum. Sweet! (Just purchased the BootIt BM/IFW bundle.)
     
  4. ESS474

    ESS474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    201
    Location:
    S?o Paulo (Brazil)
    Is rediculous for a company not having a decent fórum, finally terabyte got one. :thumb:
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    ESS474,

    TeraByte have had an active newsgroup for years. Many people in the newsgroup don't like the idea of a "forum" but that's what's happening. A forum and a mirrored newsgroup. I gather all new threads must be commenced in the forum but replies can be from either.
     
  6. claykin

    claykin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    132
    Hopefully Terabyte will next modernize IFW and the config options...
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I hope it stays the same. The old timers like it lean and mean.

    I mainly use IFW Console which is leaner and meaner than IFW GUI.
     
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    sorry brian but i hate to say i agree personally. this would make it appeal to a MUCH wider audience
     
  9. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    totally agree :thumb:
     
  10. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Brian,

    What do you mean by the IFW console?
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,479
    Location:
    California
    Brian,

    The wording on the posted information (The newsgroup interface to the forums will only allow replies to the main topic due to the flat nature of the web based forums.) was addressing replies only. This seemd to cause confusion on the NG as well.

    You will be able to start new topics on the NG. What was being addressed was that any reply to a topic via the NG will show up as a reply to the original post in the thread (the new post will be added to the end of the thread). NG nested replies aren't supported.

    Paul
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,479
    Location:
    California
    It's the version of IFW that runs from the console (Command Prompt). It's more like IFD/IFL.

    Paul
     
  13. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Thanks. I am embarassed I guess I haven't heard of this or seen this...will check it out.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mudcrab, I've got the idea about the newsgroups now.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  15. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    is this fast like IFL...?
    on my setup ifl is the fastest to restore an image
     
  16. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,479
    Location:
    California
    It should be as fast as IFW since it's running in Windows. You don't boot to it like IFD/IFL.
     
  17. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Thanks for the info...I found the commands toward the end of the manual...yes, it does run within Windows and is not an offline image. Thanks!
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    napoleon1815,

    IFW (Console) is a separate download only available from your personal TeraByte download section. It is run from the keyboard rather than a mouse.

    Both IFW (GUI) and IFW (Console) can be run from a command line and you can record the command line by pressing F6 at the end of the image/restore setup.

    TeraByte released a few betas of IFW (Console) before IFW (GUI) was released and I developed a soft spot for the Console version. When the Console version is run from a command line it doesn't need

    start "" /wait
     
  19. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Thanks Brian...I see it on my login...thanks, I want to check it out! Can you run the console version from a PE disc?
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    napoleon1815,

    Yes you can. Put imagewc.exe and imagewc.ini in your WinPE. That's all you need.

    Make your imagewc.ini similar to Step 3 in this page

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/tbwinpe_tutorial.htm

    After creating the file, make it Read Only. Otherwise the contents has a habit of disappearing.

    Edit... that link isn't really clear. Just start with Notepad and do this...

     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.