Temporary user profiles created every now and then after installing latest version

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by epmoj, Mar 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. epmoj

    epmoj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    I just installed the latest version 4.2.35.0 (64-bit) and have encountered strange issue when logging on to my user account on our computer. When logging on windows creates a new temporary user and logs me on with that profile. This happens approx every other time. Other family members have the same problem with their accounts on the same computer.

    Any clue why installing Smart Security 4.2.35.0 triggers this behaviour?

    We had the 4.0 version earlier. No probs there. Had a short encounter with MS Security Essentials. No probs there either.

    We are running Windows 7 64-bit
     
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Windows 7 64 bit here, can't duplicate. Are you sure that is the cause? Unless it is happening to someone else, you will likely need to provide more information to get anywhere with it.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I'd suggest trying uninstalling ESS just to confirm or deny that there's actually a connection between the issue and ESS.
     
  4. epmoj

    epmoj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Took a look at the event log yesterday and there are some process that seems to lock the user profile just when Windows tries to read it, hence the temp profile... i think. Could be smart security, which is a logical answer because this started to happen just after the installation of smart security.

    Perhaps Windows got mad when I uninstalled the Security Essentials for Eset ;)

    Anyway I'll try the uninstall method and report back my findings
     
  5. Gizmo

    Gizmo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Posts:
    34
    I have noticed the same issue on win 7 x64 and ESS 4.2.35. I already informed Eset about it during ESS 4.2 beta phase.

    After downgrading to 4.0.474 everything works fine.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    You made your previous post on July 3rd, 2008, long before beta 4.2 was available. Until now I haven't seen this reported during beta testing.

    Is someone else able to reproduce this? If so, does disabling automatic real-time protection startup make a difference?
     
  7. Gizmo

    Gizmo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Posts:
    34
    I informed Eset directly through their beta Web form.
     
  8. oddie

    oddie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Have installed the ESS 4.2.35.0 on three PC's all running Windows 7, one PC is experiencing the issue mentioned by the OP.

    Initially installed ESS from admin account bam temp account created. Reinstalled backup image then reinstalled from a user account this time went ok rebooted into user ok then logged off, and logged in to admin account bam temp account created. The 3rd PC after installing ESS 4.2 and rebooting from cold asked if Windows 7 was genuine, whether this was anything to do with installing 4.2 who knows. These 2 are running 32bit, the 64bit version appears to be ok so far.
     
  9. epmoj

    epmoj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    The problem seems to have gone away... at least for now. o_O Haven't done anything (did not remove, reinstall or anything) to the orig install as mentioned above. Perhaps it needed some time to adjust... go figure.

    I'll post if something happens
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    That's weird, a lot of people from ESET use Windows 7 and have never encountered an issue like this.

    If somebody is able to reproduce this at any time, please try the following:
    - disable automatic real-time protection startup
    - disable Self-defense
    - disable Anti-Stealth

    After each step, restart the computer for the changes to take effect. Let us know which of the above steps (if any) makes the issue go away.
     
  11. patch

    patch Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    178
    Same occurred with vista.
    Logged off then back on fixed it so I suspect it will be hard to reproduce.
     
  12. sjh4

    sjh4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    same issue here running windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, only happens when switching user accounts, not when logging on after reboot or when switching between accounts first time after reboot, only happening since latest update, only recently reinstalled OS so might wipe it and do fresh install, as never happened prior to latest build
     
  13. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    I encountered this twice on xp sp3 x86 since I’ve installed 4.2.
    I didn't find what this caused.

    I get message with User environment: Windows cannot load the user profile but has logged you on with the default profile for the system. Details - The parameter is incorrect.

    But I have specially moved user profile’s folder by junction point to another volume and I have installed fingerprint logon (another authentication module [GINA]).

    Did you move user profile folder to another volume or some special installation or have you installed some special authentification module or you have just ordinary installation?
     
  14. sjh4

    sjh4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    in my case both win 7 and eset were installed normally , no folders redirected or profiles, win 7 fully activated and updated eset installed with default setup
     
  15. stevethresh

    stevethresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    I get the same problem on Win7 x64 Ultimate with multiple user accounts logged on. Only seems to affect the non-admin accounts.

    Event log shows:

    - System

    - Provider

    [ Name] Microsoft-Windows-User Profiles Service
    [ Guid] {89B1E9F0-5AFF-44A6-9B44-0A07A7CE5845}

    EventID 1508

    Version 0

    Level 2

    Task 0

    Opcode 0

    Keywords 0x8000000000000000

    - TimeCreated

    [ SystemTime] 2010-03-26T23:23:49.547523400Z

    EventRecordID 8471

    - Correlation

    [ ActivityID] {00000100-0000-0000-A67A-06A75FCACA01}

    - Execution

    [ ProcessID] 400
    [ ThreadID] 10068

    Channel Application

    Computer HomePC

    - Security

    [ UserID] S-1-5-18


    - EventData

    Error The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.
    File C:\Users\Michelle\ntuser.dat


    AND

    - System

    - Provider

    [ Name] Microsoft-Windows-User Profiles Service
    [ Guid] {89B1E9F0-5AFF-44A6-9B44-0A07A7CE5845}

    EventID 1502

    Version 0

    Level 2

    Task 0

    Opcode 0

    Keywords 0x8000000000000000

    - TimeCreated

    [ SystemTime] 2010-03-26T23:23:49.547523400Z

    EventRecordID 8472

    - Correlation

    [ ActivityID] {00000100-0000-0000-A67A-06A75FCACA01}

    - Execution

    [ ProcessID] 400
    [ ThreadID] 10068

    Channel Application

    Computer HomePC

    - Security

    [ UserID] S-1-5-21-1626060638-750139819-3247247997-1003


    - EventData

    Error The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process.


    AND


    - System

    - Provider

    [ Name] ESENT

    - EventID 215

    [ Qualifiers] 0

    Level 2

    Task 3

    Keywords 0x80000000000000

    - TimeCreated

    [ SystemTime] 2010-03-26T23:23:54.000000000Z

    EventRecordID 8483

    Channel Application

    Computer HomePC

    Security


    - EventData

    WinMail
    9664
    WindowsMail0:
     
  16. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could somebody confirm or deny that enabling pre-release updates in the update setup resolves the problem?
     
  17. oddie

    oddie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Same as stevethresh I've noticed since installing 4.2.35.0 on the 22/3 I getting User Profiles Service errors (Event 1502,1508,1511,1515) every day whereas before nothing. I enabled pre-release updates on the PC (W7x64) logging the errors will post an update in a day or so.

    Have now reinstalled 4.2.35.0 on the 2nd PC (W7x32) that was having the issue with temp user profile creation so far so good.
     
  18. epmoj

    epmoj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Oops! Now it happened again. Temp-profile when logging in. Very difficult to reproduce. Trying the "enable pre-relase" thingy. BTW there are 4 active (and 1 disabled) user profiles on the computer in question. At least 2 with admin privileges suffers from the problem.
     
  19. stevethresh

    stevethresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    I've enable the pre-release updates tick box and have rebooted to test. Will post back with results later.
     
  20. stevethresh

    stevethresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Initial results look ok, all three users have been able to log into the PC.
     
  21. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I wonder if somebody observing this issue could try updating self-defense without restarting the computer and let us know if it resolves the issue or if a restart is required.
     
  22. moggy

    moggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    i also have problems after installing version 4.2.35.0 can log into pc straight away but if i go to change username i get preparing desktop for about 5 mins then get a very basic desktop with nearly all my icons gone if i reboot pc all ok i have 3 user names on my pc one for me and one each for daughter and son is it worth going back to the older smart security i use win 7 64 bit and ie 8
     
  23. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    This does not answer my question. If you enable pre-release updates in the update setup and run a manual update, does the problem go away immediately or after restarting the computer?
     
  24. moggy

    moggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    could you please tell me how to enable pre-release updates in the update section i can then give a try thanks
     
  25. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.