TDS resident scanner

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by rollers, Oct 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Hi, I am new to TDS having purchased this week.
    I have read in some of the entries on this site about using TDS as a resident scanner. How does one do this, is it resident if minimised to the system tray or do I have to do something else? Have done a complete system scan and clean.

    Thanks

    Nod32, TDS, Boclean, PG, Adaware and Spywareblaster
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Roller, Yes, you need to install Execution Protection (only in the full version) and keep TDS3 either open or minimised to the sys tray.
    You will see that it is installed by seeing the text:
    11:21:38 [Init] • Exec Protection : OK. Installed :
    in the console window.
    Please join the TDS3 Private forum at DCS where there is a wealth of information about TDS3.

    HTH Pilli.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Thanks for the info Philli.

    Have joined the forum as directed.

    Very nice piece of software, one of my better purchases (taken me a long and expensive education) :)

    Regards Rollers
     
  4. Jo M

    Jo M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    53
    Hi,
    I have just purchased TDS 3 in the bundle with Wormguard and Port Explorer, plus I also purchased Process Guard 3.0.

    My question is if I am running Wormguard and Process Guard should I need to run Execution Protection (the resident scanner) since it would seem to be done already by Wormguard and Process Guard? plus my Firewall (Zone Alarm) also asks for confirmation on executing programs that can access the web.

    Plus how do I join the private forum? I looked everywhere including in the members area but could not find anything other than this forum!

    Regards Jo M
     
  5. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Jo M, All three execution protections cover different things.
    WormGuard hooks any scripts or worms, TDS3 Execution Protection catches any Trojans that might try to run when a program is opened and ProcessGuard informs you about any processes that are started if they are not on the security list and guards protected list programs from interference.
    Neither TDS3 or WormGuard are processes as such they are only active momentarilly when an event occurrs, whereas ProcessGuard is always resident even if it's GUI is closed. Remember that TDS3 needs to be running either as a GUI or in the systray for Execution Protection to be active.

    Spend some time reading the help files and the forums to get the best from your new purchases. :)

    HTH Pilli
     
  6. Jo M

    Jo M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    53
    Thanks Pilli, I will install Execution Protection in that case!

    You didn't answer my other question about the "private forum" from your earlier reply to rollers:-

    "Please join the TDS3 Private forum at DCS where there is a wealth of information about TDS3."

    Regards Jo M
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Sorry getting real tired here :)

    You should have details with your license information emails, if not contact Gavin at support@diamondcs.com.au for your private forum logon details
    The two forums are just for TDS3 & SS3 scripting but there ia a wealth of information on all aspects of TDS3.

    HTH Pilli :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.