TDS-3 verses trojanhunter?

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by elcid123, Mar 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. elcid123

    elcid123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Runcorn, Cheshire, UK
    I have trojan hunter and I thought of trying tds-3, but the evaluation verstion hangs and stops responding and it is a very complex program, am I better sticking with trojan huter?
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hello elcid123 and welcome to the forum.
    There are more users with both programs running fine side by side.
    While installing TDS, did you have all AV/AT and the resident part of TH closed to guarantee a proper install?

    The resident part in TH might be a little problematic on some systems, in many not at all.

    What do you call freezing and hanging, did you have all startup scans checked and what seemed a freezing was just part of the Process Memory Scan for instance, which can take a little while?
    Further it is advisable to start TDS manually after reboot and during the startup and other scans avoiding to have unnecessary windows opened or unnecessary applications running till it's ready as TDS is trying to use as much CPU and memory space as possible to speed up the process.

    With these things in mind feel free to try again.
    Also read in this thread.
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=12743
     
  3. elcid123

    elcid123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Runcorn, Cheshire, UK
    I don't understand what this means"While installing TDS, did you have all AV/AT and the resident part of TH closed to guarantee a proper install?"
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    As usual, when installing new software, make sure there are no resident running softwares. This implies disabling your antivirus, your antitrojan (TrojanHunter is this case, disabling the resident running Guard as well), firewall etc. Make sure you have no internet connection either.

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Paul, are you sure about no internet connection? o_O
     
  6. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi William,

    If I'm allowed (I'm not Paul ;) ):

    I am from the old school:
    (keep in mind I'm running Windows 98 SE).
    When I am going to install a new program, then:
    I disconnect the connection between router and PC.
    Disable the resident parts of my AV/AT.
    Reboot.
    Close every program showing near my clock.
    Click several times Contrl-Alt-Del and disable there every program except Explorer and Systray.
    Do a quick Scandisk.
    Only then I install a new program.
    In my humble opinion this is the only right way to do it, but everyone has to make his/her own choices...

    Cheers, Jan.

    EDIT :

    If I would be running ZA, then I would make sure that, before the rebooting I mentioned, I also would make ZA not start up at Windows startup.
     
  7. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Don't you have to be on the internet to download TDS3?
     
  8. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    To down-load it, yes.

    To install it, no.

    To update it after the installation is complete (after a re-start following installation), yes. Pete
     
  9. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Sorry about my stupidity. Never thought about disconnecting the internet.
     
  10. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Heya William ;)

    There are NO stupid questions !
    We ALL had to learn things, and we ALL are still learning from each other !

    Cheers, Jan.
     
  11. elcid123

    elcid123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Runcorn, Cheshire, UK
    I took your advice and all seems well, I have left TD in default settings because althouth I'v been around PC's since 1995 I still not very computer savvy. I'v also diceded to perchase it.
    Thanks for the warm Welcome

    P.s forgive the spelling I'v had a few drings
     
  12. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Congratulations with your best buy available at the moment.
    --nothing wrong celebrating that with a few drinks! would not really notice spell checkers being over their top with that as English is not the first language of many people here--
    After receiving your registration key you will see instructions to enter your own members area on the site with some more goodies. Do keep this email and a copy of the keyfile in a save place (diskette or cd-rom for example) just in case you ever need it.

    Hope all runs nice for you.
    For basic settings and ideas about CRC you might like to read through the sticky threads on top of this forum, which are very readable and step by step instructive.


    BTW: some software instructs you to keep connected to internet, like windows update and more, but in most cases this is instructed on their site.
     
  13. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    See? Now I feel stupid - I forgot about that! (Not that I notice that hardly anymore - one of the advantages of pre-Alzheimers, I guess!) :p

    Pete
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.