Task Manager Problem

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by littlebits, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. littlebits

    littlebits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    I recently had a power outage due to an ice storm. When the power went out something got corrupted with the Task Manager.
    I'm running Windows XP Home Edition SP 2 OEM Compaq Presario 632MB of RAM Intel Celeron 1.80 GHz.

    The problem is that Users Tab is blank and on the Processes Tab, under User Name it only shows SYSTEM. All other Users are blank.

    Actions that I have preformed,

    1. Scan disk for errors. - None Found
    2. Checked Event Viewer for all errors- None found.
    3. Checked for viruses with Nod32 in Safe Mode. - None Found
    4. Checked for spyware in Safe Mode with Webroot SpySweeper, Ad-Aware SE, Spybot S&D, Ewido and Windows Defender. - Only found Tracking Cookies.
    5. Did a System Restore.- Didn't solve the problem.

    However there are NO other known problems found with my computer, it's running very well.

    I've search all over the web looking for a solution besides of just re-installing Windows.

    Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?




    Thanks. :)
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    check your windows services and see if Terminal Services is running. if not, start it.
     
  3. littlebits

    littlebits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Ok, I have Terminal Services set to Automatic.
    When I try to manually start it, I get this message.

    Still no change.

    Thanks.:)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2007
  4. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    All mine are blank as well, except for "system idle process" which has "system" as the user.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    mine used to not have anything under username colum at all.
    but now they all show.
    im guessing a service hasnt started but i could be wrong.
    lodore
     
  6. littlebits

    littlebits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    I don't know why the User Names are no longer displayed, they have always displayed before. If it is a service problem, they why no errors in the Event Viewer? Could this be a display problem?

    I installed a program called Process Lasso GUI to see if the User Names would display on it.

    All of the Processes displays on the User tab as SYSTEM.

    Using Process Explorer by SysInternals, all Users are displayed correctly.

    I'm confused.

    Thanks.:)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.