Take a note everyone and Acronis -

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by savagcl, Feb 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    I am experiencing a drop in harddrive speed (through-put) -
    from 121.8 MB to 107.6MB using a SATA HD. I am under the
    impression that its due to the "Snapman.sys" file that has
    been attached to my HD by acronisTI.
    I say this because other people having simular systems
    without Acronis do not show this as being assigned to their
    HD's and experience no drop in speed.

    I like the TI software since its saved my b*tt at least once but
    its a pretty high cost, in system effectiveness, to pay for
    having it loaded.

    I only saw 2 posting here about the snapman driver(?), both
    were about uninstalling. So not much is known about this
    file (?).

    Acronis, could you verify if this is correct via your internal
    testing and let us know the results?
    Also, If i used a CD (Acronis bootup) and turned off the F11 and
    the secure zone (i.e., no snapshot needed), would this file
    still exist or even be required?

    thank you,
    savagcl
     
  2. jaybee333

    jaybee333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    :) Bump!

    I'm interested in this too. As I'm a gamer, IL2 mostly, I'm very interested in any program that might slow performance in any way.

    Mods! Please let us know if there are any running backround apps that might slow the machine! And if so, when specifically are they needed, and how can we turn them off when not needed.

    Thank you in advance for your attention and answer in this matter. :D
     
  3. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Today's fastest 15,000 RPM drives are below that 107.6MB/sec figure with respect to data transfer rate. Where are you getting those numbers? Burst Speed? Do you actually notice a difference?
     
  4. that's what i thought, my sata drive gets about half that.
     
  5. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Actually, Yes, i do notice the difference otherwise, why bother posting......

    It used to be that before i could get my finger off the mouse after clicking
    on a shortcut (say Mozilla). The home page would be on screen and ready to
    go. Now there is couple of seconds wait time, maybe 2,3,4 seconds depending.
    The only abnormal thing i can find is the Snapman.sys which has
    attached its self to the HD driver. Saw this in device manager.

    The numbers are from HiTech a free utility to measure HD data transfer. Do a
    Google for it. It may not be the worlds most accurate reading but after running
    it a few times, the numbers are consistant and can be used as a ruler to
    determine speed.

    My System:
    Wasp Motherboard
    3.0GHZ 800MHz FSB P4 NORTHWOOD HYPER THREADING PROCESSOR
    550W Power supply
    Memory: 1024MB Memory Module
    160GB SATA Hard Drive < unhooked for testing speed of 200GB HD
    200GB SATA Hard Drive
    18 LCD Flat Panel Display Analog/Digital (18.1 viewable)
    128MB NVIDIA 6600 GT, Graphics Card Drivers 67.03
    DVD-RAM/-R/-RW/CDRW Recorder
    TDK CD-RW: 52/24/48
    SB Audigy 2 ZS Sound Card w/front panel control
    Boston Acoustics BA7900 5.1 Speakers (5 + Boombox)
    Multifunction PS2 Keyboard
    Logitec USB Optical Mouse
    Panasonic 3.5 Floppy ID Drive
    Zip Drive
    120Gig External Hard Drive (Smartdrive).

    Still looking for word from Acronis.........................

    savagcl
     
  6. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Just a Bump. Wait for reply from Acronis.

    Have a good day,
    savagcl
     
  7. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    snapman.sys ---> Biggy

    Apparently the only way to remove "Snapman.sys" is to format C:\ and
    re-install windows.

    I removed this file from its windows folder (copied it really) and rebooted my
    sys. NoGo! Windows would not even boot. The bootup kept seeing a harddisk
    problem and erroring off.

    Acronis: Is there a way to remove this file without having to re-install Windows?

    savagcl
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi savagcl,

    Since you already have a thread started concerning snapman.sys, I have merged the two threads together. Please keep all questions regarding snapman.sys together in this one thread.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Re: snapman.sys ---> Biggy

    Hello savagcl,

    Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.

    The snapman.sys is the system file and it shouldn't be deleted from the system. Even after you uninstall any program (not only Acronis software) the system files are not deleted from the system. Furthermore, even Microsoft do not recommend to delete these files manually.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  10. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
    Re: snapman.sys ---> Biggy

    Snapman.sys is NOT a windows system file. This file is only installed when TI is installed. It then shows up in Device Manager as the image explorer device.

    This thing needs to be removed in order to remove TI completely. The question is, how to remove it??

    http://www.anti-spy.info/process/snapman.sys.html

    EDIT: Looks like the full uninstall instructions were posted in the following thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=62478

    Haven't tried it yet, but looks like it should remove the snapman thing....?
     
  11. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Re: snapman.sys ---> Biggy

    I believe that you might have answered your own question here. Try uninstalling the Aconis Trueimage Backup Explorer device in Device Manager.
     
  12. jimmytop

    jimmytop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    USA
    Re: snapman.sys ---> Biggy

    Ah yes, the brute force approach, will probably work! :)

    But anyone reading this, please refer to the thread I posted earlier, it has what look like pretty good instructions for manually deleting the registry keys and such for full manual uninstall of TI.

    Good luck!
     
  13. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    jimmytop, thanks for the link to the uninstaller.

    You are correct. It is not a windows system file.
    The reason i want to remove it is that i am experiencing a slower system than
    normal and after checking the more common problems, the only thing i can see is
    this snapman.sys file attached to the HD.

    WOW! I just saw the un-install procedure posted by Ilya (i got a copy saved).
    It certainly looks all inclusive.
    I got to say, that thing scares even me and i consider myself fairly
    experienced in PC's. Feel sorry for the new users. Hopefully, this monster will
    be automated in the near future (Hint, Hint, Acronis).

    If i am wrong about this file being the slowdown problem after testing, I will
    post an apology to Acronis and Ilya personally. If I'm right, i will be fussing again.
    Fair enough.

    Thanks, Guys,
    savagcl
     
  14. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    OK, I ran the uninstaller routine.
    It did work except for the very last part (Deleting HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\
    Software\Acronis I did grant full permission to myself but still wouldn't let
    me delete this. I think its because i also have Acronis Disk Director within the
    same folder tho.. I will re-install AcDD to its own folder and then try to delete
    this folder.

    While my system speed did jump by 2 megs (106.x to 108.x) after removing
    Snapman.sys. I dont think this is the real problem with my system speed. A 2
    meg drop is acceptable for the benifits gained by having Acronis TI installed.

    So, My apologizes to both Acronis and Ilya.

    Acronis would be better still if snapman.sys was not required tho.

    Thank You for your patience,
    savagcl
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.