T/I 11: Restoring Image on larger drive than source

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by service, Mar 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. service

service Registered Member

I'm an I/T tech for a small company. Many of our clients use Acronis for backup purposes.

When restoring a .tib file with True Image, I seem to have two options for restoring (from the T/I rescue CD). The first option restores the entire image and MBR (if I select that). The problem with that option is the size of the partition it restores. Example: A client has been using a 13Gb drive and it may be starting to fail. Create a .tib file and restore to a new drive (which is of course larger) only creates a 13 Gb partition, the rest of the space is unallocated. This is clearly not acceptable to the client. How can the restored data be configured to use the full partition size (in this case a 160Gb drive)

Thanks,

S.

2. K0LO

K0LO Registered Member

S:

When you start a restore, select only one of the partitions in the backup archive. Do not select the entire disk. If you select the entire disk the result will be as you describe. If you select one of the partitions then the restore wizard will present screens that allow you to resize the partitions as part of the restore process. If restoring multiple partitions, keep looping through the restore wizard one partition at a time until you have everything set up.

For generic Windows systems it is not necessary to restore the MBR. You may only need to do this if using a third-party boot manager (Linux GRUB, LILO, etc).

3. service

Mark:

I have tried both ways...by selcting "Disk _" which selects also the MBR, and selecting only the partition I wish to repalce. I still get a small aprtition on a large drive.

Steve
    service@dedicatedit.ca

4. K0LO

K0LO Registered Member

Steve: