Systemworks license

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by AllanP, Dec 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I have Norton Systemworks 2004. I am primarily a Linux user and only use XP on rare occasions. I just wish to use the Utilities (speed disk etc) off my 2004 Systemworks cd. However I receive the "exceeded the allowable number of installs". Trying to get help on Symantec's site? Forget it! Does anyone know a way around this problem. Very frustrating when you own the software and can't use it. Any hackers out there lol?:D
     
  2. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
  3. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks; been there done that. I guess their site is down. I wouldn't have expected that but, here it is: Server not found.
     
  4. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    It will probably similar to when your XP or Vista won't activate and you have to call MS.
     
  5. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
  6. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
  7. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Out of principle there is no way in he!! I'm giving them $9.95 to license an already licensed product.
     
  8. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    It appears that '07 and '08 versions get free "complimentary" support. I did not have to pay for an "incident" with NIS '08.
     
  9. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Being about a 99.9% Linux user the use for all those tools and protection software is non-existent. All I wanted was to use Norton's defragger occasionally in Windows. Actually my CPU Magazine has a small article on a free defragger; so maybe I'll try that. Or I can always resort to XP's just before retiring for the evening.
    Thanks for your help; Allan.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2007
  10. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
  11. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
  12. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I used SystemWorks long ago, its defragger was a disaster.
    I ran this defragger and usually when you run a defragger the second time, right after the first time, the second defrag is very short, because the HDD is already defragged. At least that happens with PerfectDisk.

    If I did this with Norton's defragger, the second defrag lasted as long as the first defrag, so something was definitely wrong.
    Also the cleaning tool had a bug.
     
  13. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
  14. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Link seems to be dead or temporarily out of service.
     
  15. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    No it isn't dead. I just tried and saw the website.
     
  16. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    OK back up now; couldn't get it before. Thanks
     
  17. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I used to use it back when I was on XP but I am now using Vista's defragger on automatic scheduling.

    I use Auslogics at work though.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.