System Spontanoiusly Reboots

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by EPC, Oct 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EPC

    EPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    After installing the trial version of Tru Image home, my system spontanoiusly reboots about twice a Day. Has anyone else experienced this? Here is the entry from the Event Viewer:

    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x0000009c (0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0xa2000000, 0x84010400). Microsoft Windows 2000 [v15.2195]. A dump was saved in: C:\WINNT\Minidump\Mini103006-01.dmp.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    It is possible that this is a coincidence and has nothing to do with TI.

    This error has been associated with power problems e.g. loose connection; intermittant fault on a power supply; "dirty" power in that something else on the same circuit that draws a lot of power is causing a spike when it switches ON/OFF such as a heater.

    You could simply uninstall TI and see if the problem goes away - I would be surprised if it did.

    Let us know if you find the cause. :)
     
  3. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    Try to put that computer on a small UPS like an APC or something because it does sound like it could be power related. Or possibly even your machine's may be overclocked or your power supply itself may be too small and could cause this same effect.
     
  4. reddwarfer

    reddwarfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Hi all

    First post so if I stuff up let me know thanks

    Tend to agree with Tabvlr, might be a case of bad luck... bad timming.....

    try an uninstall (as above) if it is software problem caused by TI then the uninstall should help idetify this..... BUT there is also the possiblity (I guess) it still may have left the problem behind in an altered registry entry or something
    (read as not the guru of windows but had similar things happen before re; software)

    switchmode power supplies and motherboards from around the year 2000 plus (think before too) have been know to be full of bad caps which cause reboots at best.

    That said, since you are installing TI I'am wondering if you opened up you box to put a HDD in maybe?
    Further how old is your box, brand of motherboard and PSU

    Have you tried a boot to safe mode then reboot sometimes this lets windows clear its self up (a cluching at straws answer really)

    There would be a site out there that could give you more of an info of those lovely esoteric numbers and letters but the best I found so far is an MS link
    (stuffed if I know really what they mean)

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/329284

    This link tends to point to harware problem,

    Hope the link is ok to post admin and mods

    Not much help but hope it puts you on the right track.
     
  5. EPC

    EPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for the replies so far. To answer the various questions, I am using a UPS, and I did not open the box since installing TI.

    I have since noticed somewhat of a pattern to the reboots (although it may be no pattern at all). It happens once in the morning and once at night - always vary close to 11:30 pm, give ot tke a few minutes.
     
  6. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Could you tell us in which country you live? If you don't want to post that information onto the Forum you can send me a private message.
     
  7. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318

    Have you actually opened the Minidump and perused it for clues ? If it is totally meaningless to you give someone else the chance to look at it who may be able to help.


    Xpilot
     
  8. EPC

    EPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    I did and it was meaningless. I downloaded a tool that is supposed to make it more readable, but it wasn't much help. Either were the various Microsofr KB articles on the subject.
     
  9. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Did you uninstall TI to see if the problem goes away?
     
  10. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    You know one other thing you might want to check is the integrity of your system ram. Try running memtest and see what you get. Flaky ram can also cause erratic sysem reboots as well.
     
  11. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Hi EPC,

    I would start by checking your system temperatures via your BIOS. This fault could easily be the result of a dodgy CPU fan (yes even new ones can fail) or restricted air flow through the box because of cabling and/or daughter boards.

    F.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.