system slowdown with 4.2 beta

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products Beta' started by tobamore, Jan 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tobamore

    tobamore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    First off, happy new year!

    Okay, I recently installed the 4.2 beta over my 4.0.474 AV installation. Since the install I have seen a deterioration in system performance on my windows 7 x64 setup.

    For example, I have a folder where all my downloads and camera photos are stored and since 4.2 was installed opening this folder can take up to 30 seconds, this was not the case with 4.0.474. I have therefore reverted to 4.0.474 and the issue has gone.

    I'm only making you aware of this as I would like an optimised & fully functional release version of 4.2, in the meantime I'm happy with the current release version.

    For information my system spec are:

    i5 750 clocked at 3.6Ghz
    8 Gig of 1666Mhz Ram
    Amd 4890 gpu
    Windows 7 ultimate, 64 bit version

    running comodo firewall and mbam (on demand)
     
  2. cssoz

    cssoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    do you think having 2 firewalls might be the issue?
    just like you can't or not suppose to have more than 1 anti virus these days
     
  3. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    they're using nod 32
     
  4. tobamore

    tobamore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Not sure why you thought I had 2 firewalls running, but no I do not. ;)
     
  5. JeremyWW

    JeremyWW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Similar 'general slowdown' in W7 32 bit. Browsing also. Running EAV only. Now back to 4.0.474 and running smoothly again.
     
  6. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    The only way for me to decrease "slowdowns" is to set the real time and web scanner to not "Scan all Files". Its not for all people though... Its enough protection for me this way.
     
  7. toasale

    toasale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Alabama
    Have you checked "Services" to make sure Windows Defender and the system Firewall are not functioning? If running, stop the associated service and "Disable" each.

    Many times an add-on security will re-enable one or both.

    :D
     
  8. NT_

    NT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks! They sure did turn themselves back on, on my machine.

    Took the leap from XP to Win 7 64-bit recently. Win 7 is pretty good, but the improved "security" is driving me bananas. :eek:
     
  9. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    firewall service is running but firewall is turned of in settings. Do I need to stop service too?
     
  10. NT_

    NT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    That is what I had to do. You need to choose "disable" instead of "stop", though, or the service will reload after a reboot.

    Also, if you want to turn the Windows firewall back on at some juncture, you will need to reenable the service before turning it on in the Control Panel/Security interface. Otherwise, the user interface will indicate that it is enabled when it is not (Windows will eventually warn that it is not running, though).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.