system memory has been changed?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by zheng, Jun 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zheng

    zheng Guest

    Symptom:

    1) Before Windows2000 starts, there is a message: The amount of system memory has been changed. press F1 to continue, F2 to setup.
    2) The speed of applications, drops down significantly.

    I have tried anti-spyware, but it doesn't work much. How to fix it? I don't want reinstall the laptop.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Sounds like you have some ram going bad or is loose in the slot. Have you added ram lately?

    I did a google for your error message and found a page.

    http://tinyurl.com/226kt
     
  3. zheng

    zheng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Thanks. I didn't do anything on my laptop except surfing on the web. It runs slowly especially while running memory consumming applications such as office, JReports, etc. Maybe I have to request sys admin to reinstall it.
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It does sound as if you might have a ram strip going bad.
     
  5. zheng

    zheng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    You mean it's a hardware problem, not a spyware problem?
    It's a Dell laptop.
    Thanks.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas

    The link I provided was for a Dell with the error message you provided. Memory is either mismatched or some of it is going bad.
     
  7. DID any one find why this message of system memory occurs??

    i am getting it too!
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas

    Are you using a Dell? Look at the link above at any rate and see if this helps.
     
  9. my mail id is: sandeep 'AT' acmepeers 'DOT' com
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2004
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas

    Why don't you register here so you can remove your email address. Spambots will get it if you don't.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.