system memory has been changed?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by zheng, Jun 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zheng

    zheng Guest

    Symptom:

    1) Before Windows2000 starts, there is a message: The amount of system memory has been changed. press F1 to continue, F2 to setup.
    2) The speed of applications, drops down significantly.

    I have tried anti-spyware, but it doesn't work much. How to fix it? I don't want reinstall the laptop.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,816
    Location:
    Texas
    Sounds like you have some ram going bad or is loose in the slot. Have you added ram lately?

    I did a google for your error message and found a page.

    http://tinyurl.com/226kt
     
  3. zheng

    zheng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Thanks. I didn't do anything on my laptop except surfing on the web. It runs slowly especially while running memory consumming applications such as office, JReports, etc. Maybe I have to request sys admin to reinstall it.
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,897
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It does sound as if you might have a ram strip going bad.
     
  5. zheng

    zheng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    You mean it's a hardware problem, not a spyware problem?
    It's a Dell laptop.
    Thanks.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,816
    Location:
    Texas

    The link I provided was for a Dell with the error message you provided. Memory is either mismatched or some of it is going bad.
     
  7. DID any one find why this message of system memory occurs??

    i am getting it too!
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,816
    Location:
    Texas

    Are you using a Dell? Look at the link above at any rate and see if this helps.
     
  9. my mail id is: sandeep 'AT' acmepeers 'DOT' com
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2004
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    65,816
    Location:
    Texas

    Why don't you register here so you can remove your email address. Spambots will get it if you don't.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.