System Mechanic Pro 6 -- Free!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by pvsurfer, May 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
  2. mikisu

    mikisu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    Sydney.
    Tried it out-far too aggressive-you dont know what is happening-BEWARE:thumbd:
     
  3. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
  4. mikisu

    mikisu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    Sydney.
    :-* :-*rily nd truly-wrong mtu settings and mucked up a few other proggies.Saved by Rollback
     
  5. DCM

    DCM Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    234
    I have used System Mechanic Pro for years and really liked it until version 6. I also got it free after rebates several months ago.

    It now does it's thing and you don't have any idea what it is doing unless you want to spend the time chasing things down on the menu. It is still on my computer but I never use it anymore.

    Hope they change back to an interface similar to version 5 and older where you have some control over what it is doing.

    Now, I use VCOM's System Suite. I have used it for years too and it still allows you to completely control it's operations. It is also available free after rebates occasionally.
     
  6. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2006
  7. mikisu

    mikisu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    Sydney.
    All that rogue site does is by and large,list the potential capabilities of the utilities,not how well they go about performing them.

    To me their grading is meaningless.

    Mike

    .
     
  8. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaccccccccccccccchhhhhhhhhhh!......

    TOO complicated for it's own good......

    But if you like a challenge...........


    Cochise,:cool:
     
  9. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    I DEFINITELY am among the naysayers for SMP 6 -- beware it's default actions in break...oops
    "cleaning up" your registry ! and make sure you know how the undo function works (or doesn't) !
     
  10. claretblue

    claretblue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Ireland
    I have experienced a tricky problem with this program.
    After a few aborted attempts at burning some videos, I got rid of the temp files by using the INCINERATOR option in SM Pro 6s (or so I thought).
    I then noticed about 12 GB of memory missing from C drive. Thinking those temp files were responsible, I looked everywhere but couldn't find them.
    I then used the Disk Space Explorer option in System Cleaner and sure enough, C:INCINERATE, 12.46 GB.
    I believe this can occur when the INCINERATING process does not complete it's run but the problem is finding C:INCINERATE. It's not there!
    Anyone got any ideas how to find it and recover that precious memory?
     
  11. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Similar to previous posts:

    The program is too dumbed now (i.e., you can't tell what the problems are, what it is fixing, and how it is fixing the problems).

    Although, it is still on my computer for some basic functions, I won't let it near my registry, change my network settings, or anything else that matters.
     
  12. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Thanks for the info, I will skip that one too. Nothing but the best on my new computer. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.