System Analisis stalls at 55%

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by MasterTB, May 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Hi, I have ESS configured to run a complete system analisis everyday at 5.00 am.
    The problem is that since I installed version 417 the analisis stalls at 55% everytime.
    I have no explanation for this and the only way to stop it is to restart the PC since ESS won't stop the analisis or pause it...
    Any clues?
    You will also notice that I can start another analisis while the first one is trying to stop and they will both run at the same time, and they will both stall at the same porcentage... and they won't stop even if I tell ESS to stop them...
    Also, I notice that when I pause an analisis I don't have a "resume" button, only a stop button... why the h... is that?

    (Running ESS v4 .417 on Win7 RC 7100) No problens at all... except for this.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 5, 2009
  2. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    The scan stops at the same percentage every time, but does it stop on the same file? If it does, you may try moving the file to a new location and see if it hangs when it gets to it in the new location.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Checks the statistics for the AV+AS protection to see if the currently scanned file name changes.
     
  4. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    NO and NO, I thought the last file of the log could be the problem, I excluded it and it stopped on the next file...
    I really don't know what is causing this.
     
  5. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Try to uninstall the ESET software and download the newest version from our website. There is a newer build avaliable that may work correctly for you.
     
  6. robis

    robis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    149
    Try not using Cracked version of program :)

    Nice screen Repair.my.backup.v2.11.cracked :)
    Are you sure that you have esset not cracked version? .)

    Prey for mercy or burn in hell pirate
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Try the following:
    - disable real-time protection temporarily
    - run a scan
    - when the scan comes to the point when it seems to stall, open Protection status -> Statistics -> AV+AS protection and add the file shown as the last scanned object to the exclusion list
    - re-run the scan

    Does it make a difference now? What was the full path to the file shown as the last file scanned in the statistics window?
     
  8. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Don't take me wrong, but Honestly I AM OFFENDED by your comment. I have a License valid until 2010, the fact that you assumed that I'm using a cracked version not only does not help but seriously is offensive.
    I've been around the forum long enough to tell you this. And I will tell you more, I had a v2 license and being a beta tester for v3 I was granted a courtesy license from Eset itself.
    BTW the crack you see Is part of a TEST BUNCH that I have to check Eset when I start using a new version, since Eset has no HIPS I like to throw some suspicious software at it every once in a while... Something you could have thought of asking before insulting me?

    @Marcos I will try your suggestion and let you know. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2009
  9. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Marcos:

    The analysis stalls checking Large ISO files. I have DVD images of some games (the ones that require playing the game with the DVD on) and checking those isos is that the analysis stalls.
    The problem is that it never did that before... ever. I have used versions 2; 3 and now 4 and the latest release of v4 is the only one causing this issue..
    Why?
    Also, I have not messed up with the settings. It is a standard deep analysis.
     
  10. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Perhaps cause of the module update a few days ago?

    The few ISO files I have do take long to scan but it does not hang on them. My 2 cents.
     
  11. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    @Brambb: Yes, that would be a reasonable explanation. It does always seem to stall at some large ISO file.
     
  12. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Re: System Analysis stalls at 55% -UPDATE-

    So... I'm updating the thread.

    The System Analysis still stalls at large ISO files and I don't know how to solve this issue.. Is anybody having the same problems?
     
  13. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    exclude .iso, large or small, from scanning
     
  14. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    I've thought of that but I would prefer an option that solved the problem rather than ignoring it..
     
  15. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    a workaround until it is solved
     
  16. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I'd suggest setting the size limit for archives to, let's say, 10 MB. By the way, could you provide a link to that iso so that I can test it? ISO files are usually large (hundreds of MB) so it takes time to unpack them and subsequently scan each extracted file. I wonder how long it takes to extract the iso using a tool that allows that.
     
  17. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I am sorry for interrupting but NOD32 have always been slow with ISO files (since this happended https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1456486&postcount=3) . I thought you (ESET) are aware of that.

    Scanning MSI files is extremely slow , too , even on machines with i7.

    Not necessary .Just take a bit older computer (less RAM , older than most modern PCs processor) and you'll see that it happens with each and every ISO file. You can reporuduce it with default settings of EAV/ESS , downloading , saving , copying or manually scanning the file.

    Quite a long time. Not only the time but computer hangs . It happens if using/scanning AH/RTP is enabled


    Edit : Below is one example of the scan speed with MSI files (small one) . One core processor computer completely hangs while EAV is dealing with MSI or ISO files.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 27, 2009
  18. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    I can't provide a link to the file because it's home made, It's an ISO of Unreal Tournament 3 that I made to have on my hard drive (I have the space and that way I don't use the original DVD which sits safe on it's box) but you could make one yourself if you have access to the DVD... btw it's a 6.86 GB ISO but my scan today stalled for 5 hours before I had to restart the machine to stop it and decompressing the ISO with Isobuster takes no longer than a few minutes... so there's definitely something wrong there.

    PD if you want me to I can share the file with Opera Unite so you can download it... slowly... let me know.
     
  19. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you decompress the iso file to the disk and subsequently scan that folder with ESS, how long will it take?
     
  20. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Well there must be something wrong with ESS unpacker because this are the numbers I got:

    Decompress with WinRar 4.10 min.
    Analysis with ESS (44 elements in the folder) 2.35 seconds.
    And here is the pic...


    PD edit to post a pic of what happens when I try to analyze the ISO directly with ESS... BTW it's been 15 minutes and the analysis is stalled at 0% and no progress so there must be something wrong with ESS decompressing engine.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 28, 2009
  21. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Any thoughts?
     
  22. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Without getting those cab files for analysis I cannot tell why the error occurs. If it's possible to download them from somewhere, let me know.
     
  23. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Sent you a PM.
     
  24. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Getting Device Unavailable
    The device you were trying to access (....) does not seem to be available.
    I'm not sure if we'll be online at the same time if we live in different time zones, but I'll try a bit later.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.