sysrep incompatible

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Frank Butler, Aug 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Frank Butler

    Frank Butler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    Have just installed XP SP2 on a partition booted via System Commander 7. It is a clean installation with all drivers etc loaded. All updates loaded. Device Manager is clear - no yellow discs.

    I wish to take an image while it is new and clean but when I run sysprep.exe it reports 'There is an incompatibility between this tool and the current operating system'. Well done MS - it all came from the same CD!

    It always worked fine when I had an early XP with SP1 loaded.

    Can anybody suggest the cause of the incompatibilty, please? An image taken without running sysprep will probably not work. An earlier attempt always hung at the 'Welcome' screen.

    Many thanks,

    Frank
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  3. Frank Butler

    Frank Butler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Irena,

    Thanks for replying.

    Yes, I had already done that. It is still version 2.0 and suffers the same problem.

    Frank
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Frank,

    I'm afraid that we are not eligible to provide you with the support for Microsoft software. I strongly recommend you to contact Microsoft Support Team in order to figure out what is the problem.

    However, posting back the results of your investigation will be very much appreciated.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  5. Frank Butler

    Frank Butler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Alexey,

    Thank you for your reply.

    Although I am forced to use Windows I am not a fan of Microsoft and do not like the terms of their support.

    I believe the problem with this incompatibility comes from using System Commander 7 to provide several bootable partitions. This XP is installed on the second partition. I suspect that Sysprep.exe is programmed to look at the first partition which is where you would usually find the C: drive. It would not have been difficult to have written the program to give the user more options. Like I said - I am not a fan of Microsoft.

    Many thanks anyway.

    Kind regards,

    Frank
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Frank,

    I am afraid we won't be able to help you with the Sysprep because it is not the utility we developed and we are not aware of the problems it may have. However, you may not need the Sysprep at all. Could you please let me know whether you are going to restore the image to the same computer (with the same hardware) or not? If the computer is the same (or identical) you don't need to prepare the system before imaging.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.