Sysinspector Memory Use?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by PCMonk, Mar 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PCMonk

    PCMonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    I have noticed that when Sysinspector is run, the memory use for ekrn more than doubles and it is not released back to the system. I am running this on a schedule once a week. My remote users were running it once a day usually 1st thing in the morning. If the machine is never restarted it looks like the memory use will continue to grow with each subsequent run. I now believe this is what caused the issue I was having on my Win2k server a few weeks back. In that case the process hung and ekrn caused the processor use to peg at 100% indefinitely. The only way to stop it was to reboot the server.

    <edit> I have just done this on a few more random PC's int the office and some seem more well behaved than others. I am not sure what the common link may be.</edit>

    I have since stopped running this on any of my servers and only when needed on anything else.

    Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2010
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
  3. PCMonk

    PCMonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    I have just removed the 4.0.474 and installed 4.2.35. Same issue. I started with a clean configuration. This is odd because I have machines that do not have this trouble. It has to be a Nod setting or a windows service pack... something. I am just at a loss as to what it could be. :blink:

    Has anyone else noticed this? Could a few of you try it out and let me know?

    Just run the Sysinspector task and watch the ekrn.exe memory.

    Thanks
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I assume you're using ERA. If that's the case, try re-creating the database from scratch and avoid requesting an ESI log from clients until the issue gets fixed.
     
  5. PCMonk

    PCMonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    I am running this task directly from the tools menu on the client.
     
  6. PCMonk

    PCMonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    I just dl'ed and ran the stand alone Sysinpector tool and ran it. The memory for the Sysinspector process is handled fine there and has no effect on the ekrn.exe process memory.

    I ran the integrated version once more and got the same results, ekrn.exe memory started at 54 meg and finished at 118 meg. If I run it again it will only grow larger. If run on a schedule this would cripple the over the course of a few weeks if run daily.

    In which version is this a known bug and in which version was the fix released? I am running XP with Nod 32 ver 4.2.35.0 not on Vista or 7 (I have read some posts related to something like this with these OS versions)

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=264932

    "Are you using ERA4? This is a known bug which will be addressed in the release version of ERA4. To my best knowledge, ERA3 is not affected."
     
  7. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    For what it's worth, I've just tried it a few times here (Win 7 Ultimate x64, 8GB RAM) just by clicking the "create" button on the SysInspector tab.

    After each run, the ekrn.exe process has grown by approx. 12MB and is never reclaimed. This was repeated five times, and ekrn.exe is now 105MB (was 47MB).


    Jim

    PS ESET EAVBE 4.2.35

    PPS 1H 15M later, now 15:34, and the process is still 105MB.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2010
  8. PCMonk

    PCMonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    69
  9. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I can confirm almost the exact same usage figures on my xp sp3. (No ERA)
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2010
  10. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    For Windows XP creating a memory.vbs script and putting in the following drops it right back down after being run. Definitely a release issue with the SysInspector. I ran it up to 164 MB before I stopped and ran the .vbs script. Now ekrn.exe is running at ~42 meg.

    ClearMem = Space(120000000)
    ClearMem = Space(90000000)
    ClearMem = Space(48000000)
    ClearMem = Space(20000000)

    1st line for 256 meg of RAM or more
    2nd line for 128 meg-196 meg
    3rd line for 64 meg-96 meg
    4th line for 32 meg-48meg
     
  11. PCMonk

    PCMonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    Does anyone know if this has been confirmed as a bug? o_O
     
  12. PCMonk

    PCMonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    Shameless bump... Anyone have any info on this?
     
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    We will be releasing a newer SysInspector module to users with pre-release updates enabled shortly that will address this issue. After some time, it will be released to all users.
     
  14. PCMonk

    PCMonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    69

    Any news to tell? Have a good one!


    Thanks!
     
  15. ThomasC

    ThomasC Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Posts:
    209
    As seen in the change log a fix has been included in version 4.2.58.
     
  16. PCMonk

    PCMonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    Looks like x64 systems are specified. Should I assume that this applied to all platforms?
     
  17. ThomasC

    ThomasC Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Posts:
    209
    I have personally tested 4.2.58 on several different machines all 32bit and the memory leak has not occurred. It appears to me as though it also includes 32bit machines.
     
  18. PCMonk

    PCMonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    It seems better. On my laptop if I run it multiple times the memory use by ekern.exe will increase by a couple of meg each time. That is far better than before. I'll post back with the results from other PCs when I roll this version out to the network.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.