Symantec pcAnywhere and NOD32 2.7 working?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Almighty1, Jan 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Almighty1

    Almighty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    San Francisco, California USA
    Greetings everyone:

    I'm having problems getting Symantec pcAnywhere 12.0 working under NOD32 2.7. The original configuration was as follows when it worked on January 19, 2007:

    System 1 (client) - Symantec pcAnywhere 12.0 and Norton AntiVirus 2006(part of Norton SystemWorks 2006 Premier Edition), Windows XP Professional Edition with Service Pack 2

    System 2 (host) - Symantec pcAnywhere 12.0 and Norton AntiVirus 2006 (part of Norton SystemWorks 2006 Premier Edition, Windows XP Professional Edition with Service Pack 2

    On January 19, 2007 - I uninstalled Norton SystemWorks 2006 Premier Edition from System 1 and installed NOD32 2.70.23.

    The issue is that when I try to start the Symantec pcAnywhere 12.0's Remote control from System 1, it would go to the "Waiting for connection" box while trying to communicate with the other computer and after a minute or so, it would say "Communications error, Unable to attach to specific device".

    Anyone knows how to fix this or how to troubleshoot this? Thanks in advance for your help!
     
  2. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    add pcanywhere to teh list of excluded application in IMON setup?
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi Almighty1, welcome to Wilders.

    Have you unchecked "Potentially unsafe applications" in AMON and IMON?

    Cheers :D
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    is that the only way BS? It seems a shame to have to turn off wide swathes of protection to be able to use one app....
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I would try that way first to confirm if it is the issue, and then exclude the program in AMON and IMON if it is.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    ahhh - that makes sense - thank for the clarification!
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Cheers :D
     
  8. Almighty1

    Almighty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    San Francisco, California USA
    Blackspear and webyourbusiness,

    First of all, thanks for taking the time to help.

    I just tested it with:

    1) "Potentially unsafe applications" unchecked in AMON and IMON which resulted in the same problem.
    2) Tried #1 with C:\Program Files\Symantec\pcAnywhere\Winaw32.exe excluded as a file in AMON and Miscellaneous -> Exclusion in IMON which resulted in the same problem.

    I also tried telneting to port(s) 5631 and 5632 of the IP and it says:
    Could not open connection to the host, on port 5631: Connect failed
     
  9. Almighty1

    Almighty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    San Francisco, California USA
    Just a update, it seems that the problem fixed itself as of 10 minutes ago since it just mysteriously started working...

    It even works when I left "Potentially unsafe applications" checked in AMON and IMON and also removed the Exclusion of C:\Program Files\Symantec\pcAnywhere\Winaw32.exe in both AMON and IMON.

    Still a mystery to be solved since both machines are on the same LAN and I am the only one who even touches the machines.:isay:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.