Symantec incorrectly flags Yahoo Mail as a virus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Malcontent, Feb 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
  2. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    and thats why norton has practically zero false positives, look how quick they were to get onto it and fix it, i suppose these big companys can do that quite easily, but what they have in that aspect, they usually lack to customer support, thats how it goes with big vs small, i do like the new norton though :D
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,749
    Location:
    Texas
    One post removed. Please check the topic of the thread before posting.
     
  4. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Ayup, Symantec is quick.
    A few years ago, NAV (I ferget what version) clained there was a virus in message that had been mailed to a list I was on.

    I reported this to the authors, who reported this to Symantec.
    Fix was issued quickly. KAV 6 reports this false positive, guess I'll have report the problem at some point.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i remember once my sister made a word document at school and put "{delete this bit}" in square or round brackets at the part she wanted to edit later when she emailed it home.
    the word attachment was scanned by norton before being downloaded to hot mail but it was flagged by norton to be a macro virus due to {delete this bit}
    never reported it thou.
    lodore
     
  6. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Reporting a false positive to Symantec used to be quite frustrating. Do not know if it is any better now.

    Used to be, you would would send the false positive file to Symantec, and some automatic process would merely report back the same false reading provided by th software. Do not know if tere was further review by humans.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.