Symantec 2013 - Question to Backup Time

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Frank648, Nov 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Frank648

    Frank648 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    Hi,

    I am testing Symantec 2013 on a SSD having 2 partitions C: (Boot) and D:

    Select and mark drive C:, backup finishes in 2:28 minutes
    Select and mark drive D:, backup finishes in 0:56 minutes

    Now, I select and mark drives C: and D: and start backup.
    As expected, 2 backup files are created.
    However, backup time for both files is only 1:58 minutes.

    How come, backup time for both files in a row is so much shorter
    compared doing them one by one? o_O

    File sizes are fairly close on both tries.
     
  2. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    415
    Have no idea - just a wild guess: if you select the whole disk it does a simple sector to sector backup, sequentially from the first sector. If you select a single partition, it has to consult some sort of file table, since the various sectors for each partition will be intermixed (it being an SSD which doesn't partition physically).
     
  3. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    It could be the first time is full backup, whereas the second time is incremental backup!
     
  4. Frank648

    Frank648 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    Thank you for answering.
    But I'm still poking in the dark, made full backups of both partitions, no incrementals.

    1st backup C: size: 5.830.490.813 time: 2.28
    2nd backup D: size: 2.586.296.867 time: 0:56

    Then backup drives C: and D: in one run
    size C: 5.830.495.248
    size D: 2.586.335.352 time for both: 1.58

    Backups were made from a Boot-CD (actually from an ISO via EasyBCD)
    with same setup conditions.

    Well, no big deal, just got curious regarding to the difference in times.
     
  5. claykin

    claykin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    132
    Maybe you have verify enabled in the job that runs longer?
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Frank648,

    What is the full name of that software?
     
  7. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi Brain,

    It is Symantec System Recovery 2013 (SSR 2013) and it is the replacement for the excellent Norton Ghost v15. I am using SSR 2013 and it is excellent software. One of the best, in par with Macrium Reflect and AX64.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Mohamed,

    That's what I suspected but I wasn't 100% sure. I did beta testing on this app. I agree, it's good.
     
  9. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    Brian,

    does it support windows 8.1, with uefi and secure boot on?


     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    oliverjia,

    I know it supports Win8 and UEFI but I haven't tested either. Not sure about Win8.1.
     
  11. Frank648

    Frank648 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    96
    @ Brian K
    My apologies for not giving the full program name
    Symantec System Recovery 2013, sorry for that :oops:

    @ claykin
    I always use verify marked

    I have repeated the whole process to eliminate leftovers in RAM.
    Reboot, doing C: then D: (different partitions should not conflict)

    Reboot to clear RAM, doing C: and D: in one step.
    Results are about the same as in my starting post.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.