Sybase Database Connectivity problem..

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by cupez80, May 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    My client uses Sybase product in his company (PowerBuilder,Sybase Database, custom software build with PowerBuilder) and use ESS / EAV (.621 / .650 ) on several workstation. The problem is sometimes the connection is dropped / disconnected from Sybase DB Server (user run PowerBuilder or custom software that establish connection with Sybase DB server ) when workstation is idle / not used...
     
  2. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    still no answer............tried with .657 and got the same result even if i disable EAV/ESS. the only solution i can do is uninstall EAV/ESS :(
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2008
  3. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Did you try excluding the applications and/or hosts from being scanned by ESET Smart Security? If so, did that make any difference?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  4. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    yes i've tried exclude Sybase application and also network already in trusted zone but no difference....
     
  5. jdelgado

    jdelgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Have you try allowing the TCP/IP port number that Sybase uses to communicate SQL server uses port 1433. I don't know what port Sybase uses maybe this tech note will help you http://www.sybase.com/detail?id=1012955
     
  6. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    already tried that too... :D but this case happens not only with ESS but on EAV (which doesnt include firewall) also
     
  7. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    still waiting for solution.... :D
     
  8. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    There will be a new option called "Maintain inactive connections" added in the IDS section shortly which should resolve this problem.
     
  10. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    thank you :D hope will resolve the issue... but if it only on IDS (ESS) what about EAV ?
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2008
  11. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    does 3.0.672.0 resolved this issue ? cause i dont see any option in IDS...
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    The IDS options have no connection with newer program versions. They are part of the firewall module which is updated automatically. A newer version introducing the "Maintain inactive TCP connections" will be distributed to all users as soon as it is ready and tested. No time frame has been set yet as there are many variables that can affect the release, but we'll do our best to make it as soon as possible.
     
  13. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    ok thank you Marcos... let's wait and see... :D
     
  14. thewiz

    thewiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    This would be brilliant if "maintain inactive connections" option could be added.

    I too have been scratching my head over the last few weeks trying whole loads of firewall configurations and rules to stop my IM client from disconnecting after every 10-15 minutes.

    It too uses a small number of inactive connections, that can get re-established.

    Look forward to it!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.