suse tweaks,tricks and eye candy stuff

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by mack_guy911, Mar 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    hmmm hard for me ......................form where should i start so i am giving shorts tutorials what ever comes randomly :rolleyes:

    1st tutorial how make your desktop look like search and launch menu

    this i mean

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1843341&postcount=563


    2 ways to do this

    1st way


    (A)

    step 1: Clean your desktop (ie make it blank click on close cross of all widgets and remove all widgets)

    step2: then right click and click on activities

    step3: activities click on create new activity

    step 4 scroll it to templates

    step 5 click on search and launch

    you get that desktop without changing your real desktop

    this way you can create many desktops you like pause them and run only which is needed that make low on resources + pretty fast

    to pause desktop click on it
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 16, 2011
  2. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    (B) second easy way change your own default desktop

    step 1: close your folder view widget (default)

    i mean this square box

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=232753&page=23


    step 2: right click and click on desktop settings

    step 3: scroll your layout from desktop to search and launch

    step 5 apply and ok
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 16, 2011
  3. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    one important thing i like to add in on normal screen you see

    desktop setting but when you are in search and launch menu

    same things is there in configure search and launch menu so please dont get confuse or panic by that like me :D
     
  4. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    how to change icons theme

    i am not saying entire theme but icon theme


    you can download icons themes form

    kde-looks.org

    icon>icon themes

    full link

    http://kde-look.org/index.php?xcontentmode=27&PHPSESSID=a1add374d6d515ff053141c4e0755214


    download icon theme which you like

    for example i use Iceglass-2.0.2 icon theme

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1843345&postcount=565



    and this one i use faenza_cupertino_4_kde

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1842312&postcount=560


    now from menu or desktop search and launch menu

    type icon

    you get icons (customized KDE icons) click on it

    form there give the path of your folder where you download icons theme and install it



    this way you can install and change your icon themes :thumb:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677

    Attached Files:

  6. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    this is funny stuff like make your desktop eat by virus or slide show wallpapers

    right click desktop setting and scroll wallpaper to virus :D

    also you can make a desktop slideshow photos :rolleyes:

    set your wallpaper to slideshow and set picture folder :D
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Wow! very pretty :D
     
  8. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    How to install google chrome ........etc ........rpm software in suse linux


    just download google chrome and double click and install rpm :p

    suse K-pakagekit install all the needful required packages :D
     

    Attached Files:

  9. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    How to make network wireless connection work in Open Suse 11.4

    2 ways to do it

    1st way

    step 1: right click the circle icon at panel

    i put a magnifying mode to make it clear

    step 2: then click on show more and chose your wireless network click on it

    step 3: put your wireless security passwords

    step 4: it open KDE wallet ( if you want your wireless connection ask for password to connect then put some password or else leave blank and create

    step 5: you get your connection working
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
  10. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    if not

    step 6: click on network icon again click Manage connection edit your wireless connection

    step 7: check to connect automatically

    ip address (3rd tab)

    basic setting

    make it dhcp (ie your computer automatically ip from router)

    or

    manual if you need to give ip address

    put

    ip address, subnet mask, gateway and DNS server

    also check


    wireless ( 1st tab)

    ssid ...........etc


    wireless security (2nd tab)

    security wep wpa.....etc

    password **************

    given

    if all correct then

    apply ok

    you get your network working
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
  11. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    Second way please note that if you have a problem in 1st way then only try to connect via second way traditional one

    step 1: click on menu button(ie suse icon) go to computer click on yaST control center (administrator setting)

    step 2: from yaST click on Network Settings

    step 3: you get warning that network is set by network manager and you cannot edit it from yast until you use traditional method click ok


    step 4: 1st tab (Global option tab)

    set network setup method to traditional method with ifup
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
  12. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    step 5: now go to 2nd tab (overview tab)

    edit your wireless device

    network card setup

    in addresses tab (default open 2nd tab)


    write your address of network


    A)if your wireless got dhcp address (ie. it take address automatic from router) leave it like that

    B) is static then give your address here


    step 6: click next

    wireless network card configuration

    here set operation mode

    if you don’t know let it be default manage

    then click on button scan network

    now from network name select your network name (ie your router ssid,Essid )

    then select Authentication mode

    wpa wep …........etc

    put your passphrase key **************** (encryption key/password form which you connect to your router)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 18, 2011
  13. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    step 7: click next

    Network Settings

    now go to 3rd tab (hostname/DNS)

    write your DNS addresses here

    in name server 1

    ….............................etc

    then go to 4th tab (Routing)

    mention your router gateway address here and device ( example wlan0)


    click ok
     

    Attached Files:

  14. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    if you did every thing correct it set your network card

    please also not that by this method you get network icon cross (ie not working) below in your panel

    because you configure it via yaST traditional way :D
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Pein

    Pein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    Just making CD will install Suse :D and finally i registered to wilders :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.