Surfing Anonymously (Tor & SSL)

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by spider_darth, Dec 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spider_darth

spider_darth Registered Member

I'm rather new to surfing anonymously and so, did some reading up and had many doubts. I know it's a rather long list but I do hope you'll can help in clarifying them. Thanks in advance! :)

Let's say if I use Tor to surf anonymously, what is visible to my ISP? It knows my real IP, it can see that I'm connecting to Tor nodes but since it is encrypted, it can't see the contents?

It also doesn't know the final destination where I'm connecting to?

But, can they trace my connection to the exit node and sniffed the unencrypted data there?

Also, if I use Tor only as a client and not as a relay, does it mean that no connection exits through my node and so others won't be able to send their data through me?

What's the difference between using Vidalia (Tor, Privoxy, Tor Button in FF), Xerobank (Tor) and Incognito? Are there any advantages of using Xerobank (Tor) over Vidalia, Tor & Privoxy?

And are there any benefits of using Tor with a SSL proxy? Is it redundant?

Let's say if only SSL proxies alone are used, if the SSL proxy is encrypted, is it true that my ISP can only see me connecting to a SSL proxy and does not know my final destination?

What if the connection is unencrypted? What are the contents that my ISP can see? My final destination?

And if the proxy server does not encrypt the connection from the proxy server to the final destination, if intercepted, can my real IP be easily traced?

In FF, there's a feature which says 'Use SSL 3.0', does this mean that all internet connections go though SSL?

Are there any recommended SSL proxies which encrypts twice? From my computer to the proxy server and from the proxy to the final destination I'm surfing.