Support for Prevx.

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Fajo, Dec 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Joe. If you don't want this here feel free to remove it I just wanted to share some information, Its your call.

    Ok Normally I do not post this kind of stuff. The last 6 Days I been running Malware against Avast, Eset, Avira, Kaspersky, Norton Internet Security 2010 and Prevx. All have had the exact same Malware If the Malware was not detected, I ran it to see if it was detected afterwords. All Samples are from the last month most are only as old as when they were downloaded. I Wont release the results of my findings simply because It's not needed, this test was done for personal reasons and nothing more. But I will say this much Prevx was tested alone as were all the other AV's. Then it got my curiosity going so I retested It with all the AV's listed above, using the same sample set.

    The reason I'm Posting this screenshot is simple. A pattern began to develop over the week of testing, Everything that kept getting missed by other AV's was Detected by Prevx And Prevx on its own detected Darn near everything I could throw at it. Take the screenshot and my test for what it's worth, it's just for my own information I just wanted to share it with the Prevx community. That this is a Awesome product, Running along side another program or on its own ether way it does a Awesome job.

    This was on the last test of the night. Sad part is this is a common image against all my screen captures of the last week.
    Prevx.jpg
     
  2. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I think it is wonderful that you decided to share this with us. Thank you. When avast! had its massive fp problem recently, I felt very, very comfortable shutting down all avast! shields because (and only because) I have Prevx real-time installed and on duty. :thumb:
    Sad part? Not if you are a Prevx user, right? :thumb: :thumb:
     
  3. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Fajo, Yes thanks for sharing indeed!

    Hmmmm.... Maybe I should buy a license for Prevx :eek: :D

    SweX
     
  4. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Mongol plans on renewing in a couple weeks if not sooner. He's very happy with Prevx...:thumb: :cool:
     
  5. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Thanks for posting the image, that is the first time I have seen Prevx show bad registry entries. Good to know. Also, were the settings all on default?
     
  6. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Yes Prevx was a default install, The only ones I adjusted settings on was Eset and Avast. Also just a FYI the registry entry's were for active Malware not left overs. :)
     
  7. Phantasm

    Phantasm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    87
    Prevx is awesome product? It always was and IS :) (It would of been interesting if you ran a Panda Cloud scan too)
     
  8. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Who says I have not. I prefer Prevx and frankly trust it more then I trust panda. So when it comes to cloud scanning I will stick with Prevx.
     
  9. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    And how did "Norton" perform o_O :p
     
  10. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Again I wont release the the test result's, I don't want that headache. The only one Ill release is Prevx because there is little two no data out there for Prevx on tests. Hence why this post is ONLY in the Prevx forum.
     
  11. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Thanks for posting Fajo. Good to see Prevx at work on a real world user test.
     
  12. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Unfortunately Prevx doesn't work for us all.
    I have a clean install of Windows 7, I run on Admin account, the kids run on standard account. Prevx runs on boot up, but when you switch between accounts Prevx vanishes and does not load. Problem reported about a month ago now, but still unresolved.
    This is something of an inconvenience, especially as I have paid for it and it won't run on my computer! I have reimaged and tried again today...........still exactly the same problem.
    It could be the best program in the world, but if it stops running its as much use as a chocolate teapot.
     
  13. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    I think this was on Joe's to get fixed list. There is a new version coming out here in the next week maybe it will have that fix also. ;) Guess we will just have to wait and see.
     
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We've had only two reports of this issue and have still not been able to reproduce it reliably enough to develop a fix. It may be worth trying to manually add a registry entry which could get around the issue:

    if you add an entry named Prevx to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run and point it to:

    "c:\program files\prevx\prevx.exe"

    That will force it to load on bootup in the new user account. It is a bit of a hacky workaround but please let me know if this works properly for you and we'll add this as an alternate solution :)

    Sorry for the inconvenience, although a chocolate teapot does sound rather tasty :D
     
  15. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    I will give this a try but not that familiar with editing the registry. Can you explain how I point it to the prevx entry?
    Thanks
     
  16. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    I have saved having to do the above.
    Prevx worked fine for me on 64 bit, so I have re installed 64 bit and will wait for the 64 bit safeonline....................thats the only reason I went back to 32 bit to run it.
    I will have to wait patiently
     
  17. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    I believe safeonline is coming soon to 64bit. ;)
     
  18. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    I bought one year license. Blame Fajo for that! :argh:
     
  19. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    :thumb:. I don't think you will regret it. Never had such a good support team for a AV in all my years of maintaining networks. Prevx support is one of a kind.
     
  20. mhallerman

    mhallerman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    180
    Agreed - the support from Prevx has been second to none. In dealing with technical support depts etc for the past 23 years or so, they are head and shoulders above the rest.

    They could teach a master-class in support to other companies as far as I see it.
     
  21. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    I second that. :thumb:
     
  22. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Cool, I am looking forward to that...............just got to be patient :D
     
  23. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    SafeOnline will be available for x64 very, very soon :) I'll release more details as soon as the release is imminent, but you won't need to wait much longer at all.

    For what it's worth, here is the registry script if wanted:

    Code:
    REGEDIT4
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    "Prevx"="c:\program files\prevx\prevx.exe"
    If you copy and paste that text into a new file and name it import.reg and then double click that file, it will import the Prevx entry into the registry which should allow it to work properly on bootup.

    Let me know if you have any other questions :)
     
  24. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Thanks but it is working fine on 64 bit so I will mow wait for the x64 safeonline
     
  25. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have to admit, SafeOnline was slow to grow on me but after seeing it in action on my kids computers, I am sold on it. 64 bit is the final piece of the puzzle. Like Joe, on my main PC, I use Prevx and nothing else.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.