superantispyware memory/cpu usage problem

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by geepondy, Nov 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. geepondy

    geepondy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    I run Superantispyware along with Zone Alarm Security Suite on my XP Pro computer that has 2 Gig of memory. Recently I noticed a problem with superantispyware. When I boot up the pc, it initially starts up using about 35meg of memory but slowly ramps up it's usage so that after a day or so, it's over 100 meg. Not only that but it is spiking the CPU at a constant rate of about once a second with a 6-10 percent hit. When I disable the real time protection, the CPU hit goes away but none of the memory is given back. Under task manager I have disabled all the programs running under my name (only user) and some of the system ones as well and the problem does not go away. I haven't loaded any new programs recently save Steam and Half Life 2 but when I disable Steam the problem doesn't go away so I don't think that is it. I am not sure how long I had this problem but I don't think it was there when I initially loaded the program a couple of months ago. Any ideas on what could be causing this?
     
  2. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    That issue is supposed to be fixed in the upcoming 4.0 release. :)
     
  3. geepondy

    geepondy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    Do we know when that might be?
     
  4. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,749
    Location:
    EU
    I am running version 4.0 (SAS build 1050) realtime and memory use is steady.
    Final release date unknown, but my personal guess is within a week. (pure speculation)

    Gerard
     
  5. geepondy

    geepondy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    Thank you for your posts. The funny thing is, this didn't occur at first unless I missed it so if a bug, I think it would have started from day one of installation. The way the CPU spikes, it's like a program is trying to constantly go thru it like something repeated trying to access the Internet only I don't notice the same behavior from Zone Alarm.
     
  6. geepondy

    geepondy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    I have read more on the superantispyware forums and it seems they claim the CPU spiking is "normal" and doesn't slow down your system as it's only accessing the CPU for a few milliseconds at a time but I don't like it as I've never had another program do so when idle so I do indeed hope it is fixed. I cannot find any posts on the memory leak though. I do indeed hope this is a bug and fixable otherwise I'll be forced to stop using Superantispyware.

    I am tempted to submit a trouble ticket but if the 4.0 release is imminent perhaps I'll wait a week or two.
     
  7. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,296
    I don't notice any slowdown after start up, and whatever SAS does for almost a minute, although I have never timed it. At start it almost freezes my system until SAS smooths out. After that all is well, but it is annoying, and as a result I am using it as on demand, and using AVGAS to start with Windows.

    I will be pleased if V4 changes something to make SAS start and smooth out in a few seconds like AVGAS.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  8. geepondy

    geepondy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    I have been conversing with SAS tech support. Definitely a bug in the memory creepage problem. With real-time protection enabled, it creeps up at 4k intervals every three or four seconds. With real-time disabled, it does not. But here is the funny thing. At his suggestion I uninstalled and reinstalled the program. I initially did not allow it to do updates and with real-time protection enabled, I did not have the memory creepage problem. But then when I allowed it to do the updates, the creepage problem was back. How strange, I thought the updates, only updated the definitions, not the core program.

    Anybody else experience this memory creepage problem? I run it with Zone Alarm Security Suite 7.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.