super ad blocker using too much memory

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by siberianwolf, Feb 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    hi
    super ad blocker (SAdBlocker.exe) is using around 50 mb memory. i assume that's too high for an ad blocker software. is it me having this issue or that's the way it is? any (ex)sab user to help?
     
  2. Warlockz

    Warlockz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    642
    _________________________________________________________________________________________

    You may be infected with something? super ad blocker usually only use 10-15mb of memory "or so I heard?", try scanning with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, its free to scan and remove malware!

    OR you can run "HijackThis", and try to find someone to analyze the results for you!

    http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/tools/security_tools/hijackthis

    You may want to consider using Firefox and get the ADblock Plus, and No Script Extensions, this will kill all of the ads and block malicious scripts!

    Firefox download

    http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

    ADblock Plus download

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1865

    NoScript download

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/722


    Opera users can get a great adblock list here

    http://my.opera.com/Tamil/blog/ad-block

    you might also be able to integrate the list in your security software if it has an ad blocker feature!

    I used super ad blocker once and didn't like it, I'm currently using SuperAntispyware which is currently only taking 444k of memory!

    I also use Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

    SuperAntispyware and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware are also the most popular among users here!

    you can view the Poll thread here

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=229456
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2009
  3. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    thank you so very much. will do that. salutes.
     
  4. Warlockz

    Warlockz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    642
    Update:

    For INTERNET EXPLORER 6 or above - install "IE7Pro"
    The Easiest way to make Your Internet Explorer Professional!

    (Includes adblocker, spellchecker, & more goodies)

    www.ie7pro.com

    _________________________________________________________________________________________
     
  5. pbw3

    pbw3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    Mine was using 50 Mb yesterday; earlier today 60 Mb then dropped to 35 Mb, now 47 Mb.. This is all "working set" ("peak" is usually 75 Mb, and "commit" sits at 50 Mb). This is on Vista 32 Business. Must admit I have never really checked this before.. I don't think these levels are due to an infection, at least on my machine...

    With the current machine spec, the 50 Mb is not noticed (in practice), and I have to say that I have found the product to be excellent over the last year, but I have little else to compare it with.. Unfortunately, it does not work with Opera, which I am now using more, so I have to use a separate list for that..

    If you already have it, and if it works fine....

    Peter
     
  6. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    thanks, i've downloaded ie7pro and am currently using it. it's very effective.

    so it's not only me having this issue. ok, for today's systems 50 mb won't have a significant effect on system performance. but, still too much for an ad blocker.

    anyway, thanks & salutes.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.