Sunbelt Personal Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by sportsfan7700, Jun 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    I see this is a 30 day trial for free but I am unsure what occurs after the 30 days, does it stop working?
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  3. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    This is good to know :) Thanks :)
     
  4. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    You're welcome. :)
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    Most of the basic firewall features are still there after the 30 days. I used to run the free version and frankly didn't care about the extra features in the paid version. Free was fine....
     
  6. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,275
    From the Sunbelt firewall v4.6.1861.0 user manual:
    Those features make the firewall behave like the Kerio 2.1.5, but add several nice features to GUI, such as IP groups.
     
  7. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Does it pop-up a nag screen every now and then after 30 days?
     
  8. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,275
    After 30 days of unlimited use,
    Pops up a little alert window as you boot the computer.
    Pops up the same little window if you click on the main menu items that no longer work.
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    It's also 32 bit only, no x64.....
     
  10. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    I m wondering if Sunbelt knows it has a firewall for sale and i m also wondering if they are aware of the fact that Windows 7 has arrived for almost one year :)
    This firewall is good ,but without updates , lack of 64 bit support and with those little strange bugs regarding network atacks in the NIPS section i dont think anybody will buy it.
    Too bad because it really filters network packets very well compared to some others.
    This firewall looks very outdated to me.
    Would be interesting to know about the HIPS component ,regarding matousec tests ,the actual capabilities.
     
  11. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Sm3K3R,

    We do not have any plans to make SPF 64 bit or Windows 7 compatible. We will release one more software update for this in the near future which will be its last update.

    We have instead released VIPRE Premium which includes a newer version of this firewall which is Windows 7 and 64 bit compatible. At the moment you have to run it alongside our VIPRE Anti-virus but in a future update there will be a firewall-only mode which disables all Anti-virus parts and unloads the drivers related to the anti-virus if you would prefer to run the firewall alongside another anti-virus. I believe we'll also eventually be including options in the installer to allow you to choose to install just the firewall, anti-virus, or both.
     
  12. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    Great news. :thumb:
     
  13. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    so that means no windows 7 support for 32bit?
     
  14. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    hope that is going to happen soon
    Originally Posted by NickHSunbelt
    I believe we'll also eventually be including options in the installer to allow you to choose to install just the firewall, anti-virus, or both.
     
  15. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    This is sad news. The Kerio firewall was among the best out there and now Sunbelt is finally killing it.
    Too bad Sunbelt, Too Bad.
     
  16. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    They never did put much effort into it anyway, all the work was done by Kerio. When they bought it, they tweaked a few things and then just marketed it as much as they could to make sales. Hardly anything was done to fix or change it.
     
  17. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,275
    Actually, they did change.
    Added unnecessary features which can't be uninstalled (can be disabled) and improved, slightly, the interface and log presentation.

    I wouldn't bash them too hard. It's about the only game in town still resembling Kerio in its easy to use, 'all packet rules in one place' presentation, plus IP groups.
     
  18. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    I wasn't intending to bash them, just point out that not much work was done after they bought it, which to me doesn't say much for them....

    If I were running XP 32 bit, then yes, I'd consider using it. It's still a decent firewall. Just let the 30 day features expire and use the free version...
     
  19. ernie40

    ernie40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    FWIW, I've been running Kerio Personal Firewall v. 4.2 (free version) on Win XP 32 bit machines for quite some time........fairly light on resources, and lacks a lot of the xtra stuff added in later iterations. Does what I want it to, but I'm also behind a NAT hardware firewall.

    ernie
     
  20. johnny_dacu

    johnny_dacu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Posts:
    27
    I'm a noob in computers. My question is somewhat related to topic, so I haven't opened another one. Why to use a different firewall. The windows firewall isn't ok?
     
  21. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    The Windows firewall is OK but not more IMO:)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.