Sunbelt Kerio $15

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by NAMOR, Jan 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    I don't know if anyone is interested, but it seems the people at Sunbelt Software are really trying to push their new firewall. They are offering a "Special Into Price" for $14.95USD (Until March 31, 2006), which includes 1 Year of Upgrades and Technical Support.

    http://www.sunbelt-software.com/Kerio-Buy.cfm
     
  2. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Got it already. :D
    Don't wait too long though, because it won't last.
     
  3. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The "normal" price of $19.95 is not bad either. ;)
     
  4. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    This, IMHO, is a fantastic offer and a nice way to say thanks to Sunbelt for ensuring the free as well as paid for Kerio Personal Firewall continues to be actively supported.

    Note: the single user license of $14.95 from Sunbelt http://www.sunbelt-software.com/Kerio-Buy.cfm compares with a single user license of $45 from Kerio http://www.kerio.com/kpf_price.html Furthermore, in the email I received from Sunbelt, it states annual subscription renewal will be $9.95 - this was $23 from Kerio.
     
  5. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    10 bucks for annual subscription renewal seems like a nice price. Might have to try it out on the family PC and see if I like it. :shifty:
     
  6. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Kerio was not very responsive to user requests . However , it was a very good firewall . Especially this last release . It is a steal ! And I doubt Sunbelt could be much worse at listening to their new customers . Bottom line is this : If you need a firewall that is simple but , very configurable for advanced users , this one is it . For the price and what you get , cannot be beat . It is a bit heavy on some computers but , most handle it very well . Besides . The protection it offers is going to add some weight to it . Try it for sure and see if you like how it looks and feels . As for how good it is , do not worry . It is worth alot more than $ 15.00 . Not that it is my favorite but , it is in my arsenal . Had to buy it for that price !
    Firecat is exactly right . The regular price from Sunbelt is not bad either . And a renewal is $ 9.95 . WooooHoooo
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2006
  8. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Hi Hammer .
    What you read was incorrect . At setup / install , you choose between simple and advanced . Advanced will ask you about all programs that come on and you can click to allow or deny . And , you can then check a box that will automatically make a rule for what you just did .
    Hope that helps

    P.S. In simple mode , it basically has setup rules for programs it knows and does not know . You can always go into the network security and then applications tab , and change anything in there from deny to allow to ask . whatever you wish .
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Sounds like Advanced is what you'd want. Can't see why simple is even there. I must be missing something? o_O
     
  10. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Hammer .
    Some people are not sure of what anything is . That is why you would put it in simple mode at install . It even explains the difference between the two when it asks you which you wnat . Very nice . Try it out
     
  11. ~GT~

    ~GT~ Guest

    I had HUGE problems with Sunbelt Software Kerio Personal Firewall. I firstly formatted my computer then installed SSKPF and within a few hours my PC crashed and it completed a memory dump. It rebooted and a few hours later it crashed again. I had a feeling the problem was SSKPF so I uninstalled it and went back the Sygate. That was about 3 weeks ago and I havent had a crash since.
     
  12. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    You have to love Sunbelt's attitude. I happen to think that the last version of (S)KPF 4.2.2-.3 is a robust and effective firewall. If I were pondering purchasing a firewall for my system, this would be the top contender. Good on Sunbelt!
     
  13. profhsg

    profhsg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    I've been trying out the newest version of Kerio/Sunbelt firewall and have been very impressed. No problems so far with my system with no perceptible impact on browsing speed, and it seems far less intrusive (even in advanced mode) and hard to use then Outpost Pro 3.0 which was my previous firewall. At the $14.95 introductory price, it was even cheaper than renewing my subscription to Outpost (which is $19.95 for a year). All in all, Kerio/Sunbelt paid version seems like a great bargain at the current price or even at the $19.95 price.

    Also, it sure doesn't hurt that Eric Howes has been named Sunbelt's chief of malware research.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=116453&highlight=eric howes
     
  14. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Anyone know if this is lighter, heavier or similar to ZA pro on resources?

    Ta...

    JJ
     
  15. wolfeyes

    wolfeyes Guest

    man have u calculated za pros resource usage mine was always 36000k and i ahve 1 gig of ram with outpost my pc is lightning fast.
     
  16. q1aqza

    q1aqza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    312
    On my PC Kerio uses between 2 and 4 MB more RAM but a little less CPU time.

    I find Outpost 3 creeps up to similar RAM usage as ZA Pro but it does noticeably slightly slow down browsing (for me anyway). I never used to notice this slow down in earlier versions of OP 2.1 and 2.5
     
  17. feverfive

    feverfive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    121
    I tried Subelt Kerio this past weekend, and resource-wise, it was a hog on my notebook (1.6GHz Pentium M, 2GB RAM). It used almost twice as much RAM as ZA Free, and CPU was consistently running at 22% - 30%. After install, it faile dto pass the Shields Up! leak test. That on top of the fact (for whatever reason) the trial didn't allow me to try out the HIPS feature, caused me to uninstall. Maybe I'll try it again sometime as a poster in another thread suggests my issues may have been due to a "bad install, though I don't see how that could be the case (I selected the "advanced" installation).
     
  18. Upasaka

    Upasaka Guest

    There must have been a flaw in the install,Hips is definitely available in the trial period .

    Sunbelt Kerio if running and configured correctly passes every online test I have found.
    My boys PC is a P4 1.3GHz with 512 RAM and runs far quicker with Kerio than any other firewall we have tried and the CPU never shows a load like that.
     
  19. feverfive

    feverfive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    121
    ^^Well, for $15 I might just say the heck w/ it & buy a license so I can guarantee trying HIPS capability...If it's no different than my experience this past weekend (resource-usage wise, that is), I'll just uninstall & call it another donation to Sunbelt for past good work (I also dumped CounterSpy a couple months ago b/c it was a major resource hog)...
     
  20. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Great, now I just need to borrow someone's credit card (they only accept 3)
     
  21. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    I bought this and love it...really easy to use and i run a port scan 100% stealth..................
     
  22. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    I'm running Sunbelt Kerio. The only problem I found was that with Web Filtering enabled, it tends to slow downloads a little. When I disabled Web Filtering, speeds were back to normal. I run it with Web Filtering enabled though. I can live with it. I really like it. It's worth the $15.
     
  23. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg
    Is there really a big difference between Kerio and the other software firewall products especially if one is using them behind a broadband router? I installed Kerio and have let the trial period run out without purchasing it. I really did not see anything in it that in this situation would be worth purchasing the product.

    o_O
     
  24. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    I also use a router but , for $ 15 on a firewall that WAS selling for $ 45 , it is worth it in my opinion . Nice to have a little something on the inside of the router , just in case . Easier to detect outgoing to .
     
  25. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg
    True regarding detecting the outgoing but what would Kerio Pro version do in this situation that the free version wouldn't. Don't forget that this is the secondary line of defense not the primary one.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.