Sunbelt Counter Spy

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Perman, Jan 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, all:

    Currently testing new version 3.1 2416 (3.1.1606.1) with real time protection ON.

    Seems it is more responsive than SAS and MBAW.

    Awaiting its first FP yet. Has anyone else tested it yet ?
     
  2. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    I started running it 4 years ago and never had 1 problem . Running the program you are ,but not anti-virus. I use nis 2009 and have the full set up on both, never had a virus or worm invade it yet.:thumb:
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i used to use counterspy when it was v2 and i really liked it, it was a very nice and effective app. i might give it another try with v3
     
  4. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I remember early releases of Version 2 were quite the memory hog, does it seem to be running lighter now? I'm trialing SAS right now which us infinitely light but may give Counterspy a try also...:)
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well ive been trying out counterspy and its very good app IMO, it also have a HIPS-like function when active protection is on which i found to be very nice feature, you can find tune the active protection to choose what it monitors, you can enable or disable things that it will keep tabs on. it is also running very light, using only 4.6mb and no noticeable slowdown as of yet, will continue testing, but so far, it looks like a keeper :D

    counterspy GUI only launches when you open the app and not while it is running in the tray, plus the GUI only uses 12mb, doing a scan now and in total with the GUI and tray process it takes up only 20mb, performance seems good in this version, im very impressed. and no FP's yet :D

    *EDIT*

    Full System Scan is a bit on the slow side, definitely slower than SAS or MBAM, so far that is the only downside i have found. 48 mins and 32 secs in total compared to SAS 20 mins
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2009
  6. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Does CounterSpy "cease to work" after the "x-day trial period"? Seems I've heard that in the past....and that if you want it to continue to "update definitions and remove infections"....you have to pay for it. It would be nice if it could be used like MBAM or SAS as an "on demand scanner only" without the real-time protection.....
     
  7. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I subscribed to version 2.5.

    When Sunbelt went to version 3, I could no longer update version 2.5.

    Version 3 is really a different program, same name, but quite different.

    Several versions of '3' have been released. At one time, it recommended that I installed it with active protection disabled because it detected McAfee software on my computer, suggesting I use it as an on-demand scanner. Which did not make sense to me, since there are a number of good and free on-demand scanners.

    Do you still get the recommendation to disable active protection if you run an antivirus program ?
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Using with avira premium and active protection and no probs here
     
  9. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    But when you tried to install Counterspy (assuming you installed Avira first), did you get some kind of warning regarding your Avira product ?
     
  10. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    'Real-time protection on'

    I don't know the latest version, but do you also have 'on access' enabled, and did you have other security software on your computer when you installed Counterspy 3 ?
     
  11. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes i did get a warning, forget exactly wat it sai but i pressed okay and all was fine, no conflicts
     
  12. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, all:

    What I mean " real time protection on " is Active protection on.

    Yes, I remembered when counter spy was installed, it did alert about McAfee antivirus's presence, also suggesting the removal of Window Defender.

    With counter spy's active protection ON, I run OP firewall, McAfee virus scan 8.7i enterprise version, manutu and ZA's force field (replacing Sandboxie), and so far so good. O/S is WinXp sp3.
     
  13. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone who knows care to answer this?
     
  14. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    According to the FAQ:

    "After the expiration you can scan but not delete spyware any more."
     
  15. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    The latest version of CounterSpy can be run realtime with another AV. You still get the warning when you install but you are given the opportunity to uncheck the box 'check files when they are opened or copied'. This particular function is the job of an AV and unticking it prevents conflicts. Realtime protection is still substantial even with this feature off.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.