Sun Java ?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by WilliamP, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    How many use Sun Java and why? I am having problems with a couple web sites that won't work properly and someone recommended that I use Sun Java. Don't know what to do!
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm using Sun Java. Both IE and Firefox. Can you link some sites that are causing problems and I'll see if I have trouble too.
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    ronjor the crazy part of this is the page will open for a split second then disappears. Other people don't seem to have a problem. I have tried a lot of things but it doesn't help. I know it is my system but I don't know what to do. The one site is Bart's Preinstalled cd http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    WilliamP

    That site opens for me on IE and Firefox.

    I don't know if you are on dialup or not but you could try clearing your java cache for a start.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Ronjor I'm on DSL IE 6 XP Home SP1a How do I get to my java cache?
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    It's in the control panel. I'm on dsl and cache nothing if possible.
    Look over all your options and also see what version it is.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I don't see anything in the Control Panel about Java
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    mine either
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Change to the classic view in control panel. It should show up.
     
  10. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    My sun java plug in, is also in control panel as well, like ronjor stated in his thread.

    THE MUL
     
  11. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I have checked both views ,no java.
     
  12. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    In mine as well
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 6, 2004
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    bigc?
     
  14. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi WilliamP,

    Try this, go to your Control Panel, and to the left, if you see "Other Control Panel Options", click on that. You can also go to IE's Tools and see if there is a listing there for Sun Java Console. If you have installed Sun Java, there will be a folder called "Java" in your Program Files folder.

    If there isn't, then maybe you have not downloaded and installed the Sun Java Runtime Environment package?

    You can find the download for the J2SEv1.4.2_05 JRE (The J2SE Java Runtime Envirornment (JRE) allows end-users to run Java applications, at this link:
    http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.4.2/download.html

    Hope that helps,

    snap
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
  16. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    you can follow the path in ron's screenshot. c:>documents and settings>user>application data>sun>java>deployment>cache thats where mine is in beta 5 .
     
  17. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    that is where mine is located also with a lot of sub catagories.
     
  18. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Hey guys I don't have Sun Java yet. If I remove Microsoft Java VM first can I get to the Sun Java site to download the Sun Java?
     
  19. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I didn't remove microsoft's java before installing sun java and have never had a problem from it all it did was give me the option to use sun or microsoft java in internet options
     

    Attached Files:

  20. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Snap's link will take you to Sun Java download.

    Use the link I show to remove Microsoft's java. There is a download exe file file that will do it for you.
     
  21. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Sp1 removed java for me when I installed the service pack. They may have extended the use of Microsoft java.

    Who knows??
     
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Maybe you can try clearing your internet cache in IE first.
     
  23. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    WilliamP, to help you out with those pages at Sun Microsystems, Inc. download site, the one you want to download would be the second download link on that first page that my link takes you to: Download J2SE JRE.

    On the next page you must put a check beside "Accept", to accept the License Ageement, or you will not be able to continue to the download page.
    Once you've checked the "Accept", then click the Continue button to go to the final page which will explain different ways you can download it.

    Myself, I chose the Windows Platform, Windows Offline Installation, which is 14.91 MB because I wanted to install it later and while off-line, but there is also an on-line download which is smaller and faster, 7.6MB, but you have to stay connected while it installs.

    snap
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2004
  24. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you for your help. Now I have one question. What is the advantage of Sun Java over Microsofty?
     
  25. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Microsoft has to remove their Java due to legal considerations.

    I think I read also, that it is not as secure or at least had problems along that line.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.