Suggestion : protect licence key

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by dorgane, Jul 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dorgane

    dorgane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Posts:
    362
    hello,

    i write a bad little story (real !)

    the past week, i have send my computer for repair.

    Now when i boot i have this message : "Error: L055:This license may only be used on one PC"
    are you think, the repairer try use my license ? :eek:

    and for example if person have computer access with key (and outlook/thunderbird (not for me)) he can write with our email and ask disable original key ! :blink:

    Why you do not hide a set of key against hack ?
    example : AAA-BBBB-CCCC-*****
    i think will be more safe !


    thank you,
    Arnaud


    NB : i have already contact support
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Have you setup your account on My Prevx? https://my.prevx.com/ If not please do so and then you can check to see what's going on with you license! Also you did the right thing by contacting the Support Inbox!

    Also I think that it's a great suggestion to hide the license code maybe in the GUI under password protect just for this reason?

    TH
     
  3. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    I agree. I don't think the licence key needs to be displayed in the GUI. It serves no purpose. You can't even select and copy the text.

    I keep my Prevx licence key safely locked up inside Keepass (which is backed up).

    dorgane, I think its more likely that your repair man re-formatted your hard disc but I think support will help you out.
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Ah but you can :D A small trick as per the request of Biscuit a year or two ago: if you double click the license key itself on screen, it will copy it to the keyboard :)

    However, I do agree that the license key being displayed is a bit unnecessary. For our larger customers, we automatically hide the license key (I believe this starts with 1,000 PCs and up) just to prevent abuse but I suspect Prevx 4 will have some obfuscation on screen to hide it better from casual observers.

    This is likely the case, and even if it isn't, we can deactivate the PCs currently on your license and ensure that you're able to get on directly if you PM me your license key :)
     
  5. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    It worked - keep the display after all! Unfortunately when I double clicked the Expiration text it didn't reset my counter back to 365. :D Well you can but try these things.
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    :D Unfortunately we've yet to add in that feature... and it isn't on our roadmap :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.