Suggest alternative to Macrium for backing up & recovering via WIFI.

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by paulescobar, Sep 3, 2016.

  1. paulescobar

    paulescobar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    181
    I just got a nifty Windows 10 tablet called the Xiaomi Mi Pad 2.
    To clarify, this runs the "full" Windows 10 Home (not limited version).
    This means I can run exe's & use desktop etc.

    It has a limited internal capacity of 64 GB (no expandable storage).
    This is fine for me, because this is a home-use device for reading & note-taking.
    Because of this limited storage, I rely heavily on my WIFI network.

    I would like to test various software on this device.
    So I require a backup/snapshot software that allows me to revert back to various points in time.

    My go-to backup/recovery solution has been Macrium.
    But sadly, Macrium cannot restore snapshots stored in network locations via WIFI (apparently, this is a WinPE issue).
    Macrium requires a cabled internet connection for recovery via network (which is obviously impossible for a tablet device).

    Can anyone suggest an equally reliable backup/recovery solution...that can allow me to recover via WIFI?

    NOTE: I would like to avoid Acronis & AX64 Time Machine. In my recent usage with those software, they had problems with the hidden partitions & produced errors.
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,044
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    http://www.besskymall.com/besskymall50/TPT51105027_20151105044839910.JPG
    Well, if I step out of the "box" on this one, you might find that a device (see below) might get you off the wireless net for your backup issues. Most tablets come with at least 1 micro (or standard) USB port. The device below is a combination USB HUB and RJ45 network adapter. If you think you'll have "power" issues (you shouldn't if you only use it for wired networking and maybe mouse/keyboard), you can possibly add a powered hub instead and a simpler USB to RJ45 adapter.

    Food for thought...
    USB-RJ45 Adapter.jpg
    http://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/q-sAAOSwHoFXvb3s/s-l500.jpg
    http://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/q-sAAOSwHoFXvb3s/s-l500.jpg
     
  3. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,044
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Your tablet has a single Type-C USB connector (the newest) so if you decide on this approach, be careful with the type you buy (they make them with Type-C connectors, mostly for Apple products.
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,044
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Wait 'til you start using a 7.9" Windows desktop... :eek:
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Paul,

    Image for Linux will do this. I've used wireless backup/restores a lot in tests, even remote restores over a wireless network. But, TRF's suggestion is much better. Data transfer over a wireless network is SLOW.

    I use one of these on my tablet that doesn't have an ethernet port...

    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/USB-3-0-...027970?hash=item5d5df0e942:g:EbAAAOSwI-BWF4iT
     
  6. paulescobar

    paulescobar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    181
    RE: Hub

    Thanks Mr. Frog & Mr. Brian! That's an excellent solution, which actually opens up usage possibilities beyond what I initially imagined.
    And yes, I take note of that type-c connection.

    I've settled on a StarDock type-c USB/Ethernet hub (HB30C3A1GE).
    It includes USB ports, ethernet, and a feature I think will help greatly...its own power adapter.

    RE: Desktop on 7.9 screen

    Actually, Mr. Frog, I only use the desktop mode & disable tablet mode.
    There is a Windows 10 display setting that recommends "200%" (which sounds grotesquely big, but is actually reasonable when applied).
    The scaling works very well. Everything is visible, readable, and no buttons or panels get distorted. It is also easy to click & drag things.
    Obviously, the size of items are a little smaller...but it's no strain in my daily usage (file management, reading, highlighting, annotations, etc.).
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    For anyone interested in wireless image/restores...

    Don't let a 63 character WPA2 password frighten you, as you don't have to type it in. Restores over a wireless network aren't fast but they can be done, if needed.

    Create a text file on your IFL UFD and copy the WPA/WPA2 PSK into the text file

    Boot the Network IFL UFD

    Close the IFL GUI
    Click mnt in the dock and mount the UFD
    Open "Editor" in the dock. Choose mnt1 (choose "boot" folder if already mounted at boot). Open the WPA2 text file (leave it on the desktop)

    Right click the desktop
    Configure Network
    Select the Wireless interface (eth1 on my laptop, wlan0 on my desktop)(you will see the interface is DOWN and has no IP Address)
    IP Address Mode ... dhcp
    Wireless Security ... WPA/WPA2
    Wireless SSID ... type it in
    WPA/WPA2 PSK ... Highlight the WPA/WPA2 PSK password in "Editor", press Ctrl-C on keyboard. In "Enter the pre-shard key..." field, right click and Paste.
    SSID Hidden ... No or Yes
    Start eth1 (or whichever interface it is)(you might have to press the Down arrow to see this option) ....
    Make sure the interface is UP
    Finished/Exit Menu (twice)
    Close Editor

    Click net1 icon in the dock
    Auto Detect SMB Servers (Specify SMB Server Manually if Auto doesn't work)
    Select Server
    Username
    Workgroup (should already be filled in)
    Password
    Select the Share containing your backup image, click OK
    Exit Menu (twice)

    Open the IFL GUI
    Restore
    Normal
    File (OS)
    open net1
    select your .TBI
    proceed as per a normal restore
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,044
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Paul... good job! Let us know how such a device works in that tablet environment. Any tablet owner has your same basic limitations... I'd love to know if that hardware configuration really works.

    Bryan, GREAT INFO... thanks a lot!
     
Loading...