Stumped on AD Synchornization for Groups

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by bradtech, Jan 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    I just updated to the new version of 3.039 Server/Remote Admin.. I am wanting to do a synchronization to the LDAP of Active Directory.. I have verified I can BIND to the LDAP from the credentials I am using using LDP.

    I go into Tools
    Server Options
    Other Settings
    Edit Advanced Settings
    Click + next to Setup under ERA Server
    Click + next to Active Directory

    Under By Groups/AD Sync create I left to default option
    Under Active Directory Server I have ldap://FQDN
    Active Directory username: domain\useraccount
    AD Password: The password for the account associated with above

    I have reset the password again to make sure it was not that.. I used my own Domain Credentials which is a Enterprise Admin in Active Directory.

    As stated above I can BIND to the ldap using a 3rd party tool

    However, my Domain Controllers are Windows 2008 Server which shouldn't matter because it's LDAP V3 still IIRC..

    Here is the Screenshot for the error message i get when I hit Ctrl + G to go into Groups Editor.

    eseterror.jpg
    http://www.bradtechonline.com/eseterror.jpg
    __________________
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2009
  2. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    Log file

    [2009-01-08 10:59:09.869] V2 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_DEBUGINFO> Synchronize Active Directory Groups starting...
    [2009-01-08 10:59:09.885] V1 [49662a890000] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_ERROR> GroupParserInit: failed, step: 10, code: 0x80005000, description: An invalid ADSI pathname was passed.
    [2009-01-08 10:59:09.885] V1 [49662a890000] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_ERROR> CompOrgADSISearcherProceedOrgSearch: failed, step: 1, code: 0x80004005, description: Unspecified error
    [2009-01-08 10:59:09.885] V1 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_ERROR> Cannot parse active directory groups.
    [2009-01-08 10:59:09.885] V2 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_DEBUGINFO> Synchronize Active Directory Groups finished, took 16ms.
    [2009-01-08 10:59:09.885] V2 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <SESSION_ERROR> ConsoleProcessRequest: C2S_GROUP_SYNCHRO: an error occurred by the synchronization, code (2,0,0), lasterror 0
    [2009-01-08 11:06:36.520] V1 [4966329c0293] [000015c4] <NOTIFICATION_ACTION_INFO> Completed task
    [2009-01-08 11:37:08.529] V2 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_DEBUGINFO> Synchronize Active Directory Groups starting...
    [2009-01-08 11:37:08.529] V1 [49662a890000] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_ERROR> GroupParserInit: failed, step: 10, code: 0x80005000, description: An invalid ADSI pathname was passed.
    [2009-01-08 11:37:08.529] V1 [49662a890000] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_ERROR> CompOrgADSISearcherProceedOrgSearch: failed, step: 1, code: 0x80004005, description: Unspecified error
    [2009-01-08 11:37:08.529] V1 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_ERROR> Cannot parse active directory groups.
    [2009-01-08 11:37:08.529] V2 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_DEBUGINFO> Synchronize Active Directory Groups finished, took 0ms.
    [2009-01-08 11:37:08.529] V2 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <SESSION_ERROR> ConsoleProcessRequest: C2S_GROUP_SYNCHRO: an error occurred by the synchronization, code (2,0,0), lasterror 0
    [2009-01-08 11:53:57.740] V1 [49662a890000] [000015bc] <UPDATER_ERROR> Update failed, code: 4, aditional code 0x2201, aditional description UPDATE_VER_IS_EMPTY
    [2009-01-08 12:50:29.769] V2 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_DEBUGINFO> Synchronize Active Directory Groups starting...
    [2009-01-08 12:50:29.769] V1 [49662a890000] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_ERROR> GroupParserInit: failed, step: 10, code: 0x80005000, description: An invalid ADSI pathname was passed.
    [2009-01-08 12:50:29.769] V1 [49662a890000] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_ERROR> CompOrgADSISearcherProceedOrgSearch: failed, step: 1, code: 0x80004005, description: Unspecified error
    [2009-01-08 12:50:29.769] V1 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_ERROR> Cannot parse active directory groups.
    [2009-01-08 12:50:29.769] V2 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <ACTIVE_DIRECTORY_DEBUGINFO> Synchronize Active Directory Groups finished, took 16ms.
    [2009-01-08 12:50:29.769] V2 [49662a9d0016] [00001610] <SESSION_ERROR> ConsoleProcessRequest: C2S_GROUP_SYNCHRO: an error occurred by the synchronization, code (2,0,0), lasterror 0
     
  3. PRJUS

    PRJUS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Posts:
    95
    Location:
    Denmark
    Could it be that you didn't write LDAP:// or GC:// in uppercase?

    It has to be in uppercase in order to work.
     
  4. EvilDave UK

    EvilDave UK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Posts:
    275
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    You need to reinstall ERA, from scratch.

    No seriously, this is the fix, because no one from ESET helped me when I had this problem because they didn't know what the problem was.

    Turns out for me, reinstalling fixed the problem and now it works fine!

    Works OK in the old version, but for some reason screws up when you perform the upgrade to v3.

    Would be nice to hear some sort of official word from ESET though rather than telling people to reinstall - not exactly the most friendly fix, but hey it works!

    ESET...?
     
  5. FrancWest

    FrancWest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    anyone else noticed that the password for AD sync is not being remembered when setting it through server option -> other -> advanced settings.

    I enter a valid password there, policy branch changes blue. Press OK, save the policy. Press OK in the server options screen. Open server options again, view setting and the AD password is set to 'not set' again.

    I'm unable to sync with AD due to this.

    Any ideas?

    Franc.
     
  6. crutter

    crutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    I'm glad to see I'm not the only one with this problem. Just starting to configure the RA and this is the first problem I've hit. I guess I can bypass it for now though.

    As for the groups, I had the same error as the first post until I connected a pc I'd used to test NOD32 to the RA server manually and then the relevant groups for that pc became available when I reran the AD group Sync. I'm assuming therefore that the groups are only visible for pc's that have are connected to the RA
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.