stub library wasn't initialized

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by norm2002, Nov 18, 2013.

  1. norm2002

    norm2002 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    I am using Paragon Hard Disk Manager™, version 10.1.19.16240 (22.11.12 ) Professional.

    I have just tried to restore a recent backup and keep getting the above error message when it boots back to carry out the restore. Any one know what the problem may be? I last restored a backup a few weeks ago without problem.

    TIA
     
  2. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
  3. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    Please clarify when you are receiving this error as well as what environment you are working from, i.e. WinPE RCD? Linux? Within the operating system? Oh and if Safe boot is enabled through the bios, you won't be able to carry out this operation, you will have to disable it run the operation and then re-enable it.
     
  4. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    On Windows boot (blue console), not any CD-based environment.

    That's OK SB is already turned off, but in BIOS are more booting options like UEFI / AHCI mode which I'm not too familiar with. Neither choice however seems to bypass this problem.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2013
  5. Paragon_Matt

    Paragon_Matt Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    399
    will look in to check to make sure the 'blue screen mode' is properly functioning, will test today and let you know my results.
     
  6. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    I think HDM is not yet ready for fixing Windows 8.1 issues (GPT/UEFI partitions). It has only option for MBR recovery.
     
  7. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,285
    See the HDM 14 Manual, "UEFI Boot Challenges ".
     
  8. Anakunda

    Anakunda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    HDM 14 seems to handle this problem
     
  9. DebLand

    DebLand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    I'm using HDM 12 and just upgraded from Windows 8.0 to 8.1 and I have MBR disks. I now get the "stub library wasn't initialized error." I think from an earlier response that an upgrade to HDM 15 might fix this problem. Is that correct?

    I also see some advice about disabling Safe Boot in the BIOS, but I'm a bit afraid to do that, since I see advice in other forums about problems that causes.

    I'm not thrilled about paying for an upgrade to a newer version of HDM. But if it would fix my problem, I'd prefer that solution.
     
  10. Manoj Karmarkar

    Manoj Karmarkar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    I have a similar problem. My version of HDM (12, professional) worked with Windows 8. WHen I upgraded to Windows 8.1, I continued taking backups with HDM 12. But today, when I needed to restore my C:\ partition from a backup, I got the "stub library not initialized" error.
    If I upgrade to HDM 15 now, can anyone tell me if I can restore my C:\ partition with HDM 15 using the backup I have taken under HDM 12?
     
  11. DebLand

    DebLand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    I got the "stub library not initialized" error during a copy disk operation. Upgrading to HDM 15 fixed that problem. Hope that helps.
     
  12. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,285
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2015
  13. Manoj Karmarkar

    Manoj Karmarkar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks a lot, DebLand and Robin A. for your support and suggestions.:thumb:

    The update on the issue is:

    I upgraded to HDM 15 professional from HDM 12 professional.
    Then used Legacy mode (as suggested by Robin A.) and could successfully restore a backup of my partitions which had been made under HDM 12 professional.
    The backup I restored from was an arc_..... folder, and it indeed contained a PFI file.

    And so it all ended on good note!