Strange Tomtom.com issue

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by MerleOne, Aug 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    I have a strange issue with my netbook. I use a free wifi hotspot to connect to the Internet, and it went well until I tried to connect to www.tomtom.com. The website won't open. When I use another PC connected to the same hotspot, it just opens fine and quickly. When I retry several times on the netbook, it sometimes load the home page after 30 trials or so.

    I have tried every single browser : Opera, Chrome, K-Meleon, IE, and they all refuse to load properly www.tomtom.com.

    Chrome does specify some error message :
    Error 324 (net::ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE): The server closed the connection without sending any data.

    Any hint on where I should look to solve this ?

    BTW, I have reinstalled Java & Flash, just in case... No effect.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    can you connect to that site from some other place (other than that hotspot)?
     
  3. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Yes, sorry, forgot to tell that. All other websites I have tried do work fine, including Wilders...
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    I meant if you can access tomtom.com from another hotpoint (maybe there is an issue with current one). In any case did you try accessing the site via its ip address 85.90.77.41
     
  5. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Thanks. I cannot test that (from another hotspot) before a few days. When I try to connect to the direct ip address you mentioned, I get the same result.

    Error 324 (net::ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE): The server closed the connection without sending any data.

    Ping from a cmd windows does work though :

    C:\Users\MerleOne>ping 85.90.77.41

    Envoi d'une requête 'Ping' 85.90.77.41 avec 32 octets de données*:
    Réponse de 85.90.77.41*: octets=32 temps=163 ms TTL=116
    Réponse de 85.90.77.41*: octets=32 temps=132 ms TTL=116
    Réponse de 85.90.77.41*: octets=32 temps=117 ms TTL=116
    Réponse de 85.90.77.41*: octets=32 temps=143 ms TTL=116

    Statistiques Ping pour 85.90.77.41:
    Paquets*: envoyés = 4, reçus = 4, perdus = 0 (perte 0%),
    Durée approximative des boucles en millisecondes :
    Minimum = 117ms, Maximum = 163ms, Moyenne = 138ms

    Same if I ping www.tomtom.com
     
  6. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    After removing all network components of Avast and optimized my IP connection with the free Ashampoo Optimizer3, it works now !

    Since I did both fixes, I don't know which one worked, but anyway, it seems fixed now.

    Thanks !
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2011
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.