Strange Dr. Web problem

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by n8chavez, May 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I've been having somewhat of a wierd issue with the latest beta version of Dr Web. Whenever I try to run a scan via the scheduler, if the parameters contain an *, then my system crashes and restarts. If there is no * symbol in the parameters, for instance /GO, then it runs fine. Has anyone yet to encounter this? I'm wondering if maybe that is not the way to scan all disks in the beta version. Thanks for your help.

    Nate
     
  2. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    I just tried it and my computer crashed and restarted also. This appears like it's a bug.

    I'm running Windows XP with the latest Dr. Web beta.
     
  3. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Don't take this the wrong way but I'm glad to hear that. At least, if it's a bug, Dr Web can fix it. I have filled out a support ticket, number 0368. I will amend it to show that others are experiencing the same thing. Thanks.
     
  4. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    drweb32.ini -Allowwildcards = Yes
    I think it is defaulting to "No". Changing this to yes might solve the problem.
     
  5. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Thanks for the suggestion. I've made the change but unfortunately Dr Web (beta) still crashes.
     
  6. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I recieved a response from Dr Web support. It is as follows:

     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    did this fix your issue?

    ive always thought drwebs support were one of the best, so if it didnt... get back onto them.

    i suggest the ticket system, ive had replys as quick as <1min through that.
     
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Nope. Unfortunately it did not. I was told to use bugs.drweb.com from now on if I had a problem with the beta version. However, after I created a new account in their sytem, I never received my generated password.
     
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    email v.sapunkov [at] drweb dot com

    he sorted out my password registration very quick, when i had problems with my password (i had one.... i just kinda forgot it :D )
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2007
  10. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    that is very funny.
    also it doesnt say what its infected with:D
    lodore
     
  12. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    it does lodore... the screen just doesnt show it.

    if i remember, script virus.
     
  13. Serge Popov

    Serge Popov AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    41
    This is a known bug. It will be fixed by the next Dr.Web 4.44 beta update.
     
  14. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    dont worry :)

    i wasnt worried serge :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.