Stop: 0x00000608 - No Info

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by pratzert, Jul 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pratzert

pratzert Registered Member

I have Dell Dimension XPS Gen 2 Desktop running Wi XP=Pro SP3.

I have been getting a BSOD randomly and usually when I leave the PC running unattended for a while.

The Stop Code is 0x00000608 (0x00100000,0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000).

I cannot find any real info on this error code.

I don't know if it's software or hardware related.

Anyone have any detailed info on this error code ?

Thanks.

2. MICRO

MICRO Registered Member

It's worse than nought nought double nought.

Why not visit Nirsoft's tiny no installs and try his, 'BlueScreenView' and 'MyEventViewer', I have been using both for several years along with a dozen other of Nirsoft's Apps., they might throw more light on your subject.

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/index.html

3. Searching_ _ _

Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

If that BSOD code isn't in the MS pages then it may be a fake BSOD.
    Make sure you haven't copied them down incorrectly.

4. Page42

Page42 Registered Member

Check Event Viewer under System and Application for Event ID number,
    then eventid.net.
    3 months membership costs 9 bucks if you want to get all the info.

5. pratzert

Thanks... I'll give it looksie.

6. pratzert

I got the error twice in a span of two hours and I definately have it copied down correctly.

I've never heard of a false BSOD... but othing would surprice me now-a-days with the things hackers can and will do.

Last night I booted into safe mode and ran Malwarbytes. It didn't find anything and the machine has not shut down.

This makes me more suspicious of some sort of problem/conflict with software since the PC has not crashed wiht a BSOD while running in safe mode.

Thanks.

7. pratzert

After the first time I did look at the event viewer and saw two big "X"'s but did write down exactly what they were.