Steps to use archives after reinstall?

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by bg56, Mar 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bg56

    bg56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Looks like my C: drive has failed (started getting warnings, never could clone the drive with B&R10, now cannot boot). Preparing to reinstall Win7 and B&R10 - I have archives on a separate hard drive - what steps do I need to take to access the archives after my Win7/B&R10 reinstall?

    Do I need to restore the archive DB? If so, where can I find it? (I can still access files on my C: drive and I have all my archives on my still functional D: drive.

    Thanks
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Boot up the B&R recovery CD or USB key, whichever you made, and run through the restore wizard.

    You don't need the db since I don't believe the recovery media version even knows about it. If it is looking for the db look within the wizard where you can change to FileView.
     
  3. bg56

    bg56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks for the reply - I don't think I was clear in my question. I am in the process of rebuilding my Win 7 image and will have full access to B&R10 on Windows. The question is - "is there a reinstall process for B&R10 so I have access to all my existing backups/archives".

    Thanks again and apologies for the lack of clarity
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    The archive database is located in a folder called archive_db which was built on the drive that was drive 0 in your system even if it isn't the drive that the system boots from. If it was on the disk that is being scrapped then you won't have it unless you can extract it from an archive. If it isn't on disk 0 then look elsewhere; it seems that once it is on the PC and being used it will continue to be used regardless of what is now disk 0.

    If you can't do this then I would think you should be able to browse to your archives and import them into the new database. There is an Add an Existing Archive to Database under the tools and also there is an icon that will do it above the archive listing window in when the Archives tab is selected. It looks like a pile of disks with a green + beside it. This is all in the Advanced View.

    So you should by using this tool be able to browse to your existing archives and add them into the database.

    In the Restore Wizard's Browse for Archive Window there is a Switch to File View link on the left about mid-screen. This allows you to browse for the archive files even if they aren't in the database.

    HTH
     
  5. bg56

    bg56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks! found it (actually ARCHDB was the folder name) - I'm still looking for where my scheduled tasks were stored - can build them but hoping to restore. Any ideas what file(s) scheduled tasks are stored in / where they are located.

    Thanks again, I'm almost back up and running
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.