Steer clear of 2008 Trend Micro IS for now

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by david_h, Oct 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    I have 3 pc's (one vista and 2 xp home) that have been successfully running Trend Micro Internet Security 2007 for some time. I've tried many security suites over time and find this one of the best for home use.

    I upgraded all to the 2008 version in the last week and had significant problems with every install. The problems were severe - the vista pc would only boot properly on occasion and the xp machines either hung during a virus scan or took forever to start up. I had to revert to 2007 on all pc's within a couple of days. So my advice is to wait a while till they update the September 26 version.

    I can't understand why they have released such an immature product. The damage to product image can't be worth the benefit of being one of the first companies to release a 2008 security suite onto the market.
     
  2. Crappopotamus

    Crappopotamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Illinois
    One of the first? Bitdefender, Panda, Norton, and I think even the new McAfee came out prior...

    Might want to clean out some registry entries or look around for a removal tool.. I am using 08 on a Vista laptop now and have been since beta and I have not seen the things you are speaking of.
     
  3. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    The registry if fine - the vista pc is a clean install from July. My point is that I had 3 out of three failed installs - all for different reasons. Not good odds I think.
     
  4. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    I have recently installed Trend Micro IS 2008 on my main computer. For me it is running really well. I had trouble with 2007. When making changes to the options in 2007 the GUI would hang until I killed it via task manager. So far I do not see that problem with 2008. Could it be a conflict with other software on your machine(s)? I noticed that the installer seemed to be picky when it came to what programs are on computer. It actually asked me to uninstall spyware blaster before installing TMIS2008.
     
  5. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    They did exactly the same thing with the initial 2007 release, it was buggy as. I went back to 06 for a few months, by then they'd got most of the bugs sorted out.
    Most, but not all. :(
     
  6. StevieE9

    StevieE9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    139

    No well-written security program will ask you to uninstall another well-written security program.

    Trend Micro products - like McAfee and Norton - are best given a very wide berth. They have *always* been troublesome and are not well enough written, researched or tested to take account of other software. In fact, you are doing *them* a favour when you report the bugs they didn't bother testing for!!

    They are written and released (with much fanfare) to make money - they don't care if they bugger up the systems or cause annoyance to the odd few 1000s users here and there, because their marketing to the masses makes them their bottom line profit anyway.
     
  7. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    KAV 7 won't let you install Sunbelt, or Comodo firewalls if KAV 7 is already installed. When I used KAV 7, I had to uninstall it first before I could install Sunbelt or Comodo firewalls. What a hassle that is.

    I never had that problem when I had Trend installed without it's firewall.
     
  8. sasa843

    sasa843 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Serbia, Europe
    Tell this to their engineers!?!

    I am trialing TMIS 08 now and it's running wery well.
     
  9. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    I did not have any security products installed on my 3 pc's other than TMIS 2007 so a conflict with other security programs is not possible. I tend to agree with argus tuft. I think in a couple of months it might be stable for most installs.
     
  10. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i tried it,

    installed and un-installed fine.

    o_O
     
  11. StevieE9

    StevieE9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    That's a pretty recent phenomenon with Kaspersky but they have moved ahead massively in public awareness in the last few years, and I believe it is a consequence of them getting too big for their boots.

    But KAV are minnows when it comes to really fracking up a system - Trend Micro and Norton/Symantec have been winning awards for that for years.
     
  12. StevieE9

    StevieE9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    If TM (or Norton's products) fracked up everyones' system every time - then they really would be out of business in the home market.

    Software conflict doesn't always happen or even often happen as a simple reproducible bug. It happens on system with certain programs installed in any number of configurations.

    Examples: Norton Firewall (all versions) frequently forgets to ask for a new permission when Moz Firefox is updated - but not always and not for even a small minority of users - but it still thens makes Firefox 'dead' to the world and for the average user (who is the almost exclusive user of Norton home products) gets a bad time in the bargain.
    Zone Alarm Free is the next main culprit in the above problem.
    Trend Micro's PC Cillin is *notorious* in its earlier versions for not working with Firefox, period! Now for a Security Suite not to be able to work with a browser used - even a year ago - by 60 MILLION users, is a joke.
    And Trend Micro used to popmpusly *boast* about not being immediately focused on a 'minority' browser.

    McAfee is actually the least bad of the 'McDonalds' outfits in security terms, but even they have an umbilical link to MS products and Internet Exploder that defies reason.

    Norton/Symantec/McAfee/Trend Micro? No thanks. :)
     
  13. twombley

    twombley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1
    I too encountered the problem, WAS asked to remove Spyware Blaster before I could install TrendMicro vs. 2008. Absolutely not satisfactory, and demonstrates poor testing by Trend Micro engineers.

    I am quite up-to-task on this s/w, have been using the product since vs. 2000 and have watched it bloat through the yrs. I use very few modules of this product since 2005 vs.

    I used 2008 vs. for approx. 3 mos., reverted back to 2007 vs, I have a continuous paid perscription which IS renewed.

    I re-installed Spyware Blaster AFTER Pc-cillin/Trend Micro 2008 WAS Installed, TODAY I updated to Spyware Blaster 4.0. I have run Spyware Blaster many yrs., wouldn't run a PC without it!! I felt the same way about Trend Micro AV s/w too. I have NEVER rec'd a virus or malware IN ALL the yrs. I have been going online.

    Definitely, Trend Micro needs to check and test compatibility ISSUES, I gave them h*ll, they are working on it!!

    I am using 2007, I manually update, everything IS turned off, ALL modules except anti-virus and of course, realtime scan, I do use the firewall. It is excellent, but you have to configure/tweak it which I have learned to do, you can easily make your pc stealth/invisible on the Internet.

    Positive; the support for the product IS very good. AND, there IS a PCC Tool installed w/the product... it's in the install folder, PCC tool.exe. In 2008 vs. they renamed the tool, I found it, they named it Support.exe. Launch it and it HELP you resolve issues with the product, and the tool WILL do a FORCED un-install, REMOVING ALL REGISTRY ENTRIES.

    Sometimes, a update will GO bad and cause severe issues, in 2008 & 2007, make sure you have your settings to revert back.

    I WILL not BE re-installing 2008, I will use 2007 vs. until my next renewal and get 2009.

    I am running XP-Pro, SP2, YES, Windows IS a bit slower to start-up both w/2007 & 2008, all the service modules are starting-up. Also, even though I run hardly NO modules, I must obtain updates for ALL the modules!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2008
  14. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    NOrton has yet to corrupt my system with chkdsk errors. That award goes to Kaspersky.. and thats a real frack-up if you ask me. If Norton pulled that stunt and had so many majors issues as you claim, they would be out of business by now given their large customer base.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.