Stealth in ZA+4.5

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by snowbound, Dec 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snowbound

snowbound Retired Moderator

Hi everyone

My firewall is ZA+4.5

I have tried many online port scanners(shieldsup,sygate,auditmypc and so on)

The only one i can achieve stealth is shieldsup. All the others my ports are closed.

I am only a beginner so i just use the default settings. Every program is set to ask, and nothing gets server rights.
    The only expert rule i have i got from LowWaterMark's post on how to stop pings from the welchia worm.

My question is, is closed ports good enough?

If it isn't, how do i achieve stealth on these other online port scanners?

Thanks

Snowbound

2. CrazyM

CrazyM Firewall Expert

Getting mixed results is not unusual, but you should show as stealth with ZA.

Closed is still secure.

Is your ZA set at the default High for the Internet zone?

Edit: cancel the edit as LWM covered the router question.

Regards,

CrazyM

3. LowWaterMark

LowWaterMark Administrator

Also, what is your ISP connection type and do you have a router in the mix?

4. snowbound

Yes my ZA+ default settings are on high.

Iam on cable and do not have a router.

I would really like to try sites like PC Flank and Hacker Whacker but for some reason they can't read my IP.

This maybe a stupid question but i can't understand why some sites i can use and some i can't :doubt:.

If i can't achieve stealth can i feel safe with closed ports?

I have read posts here from more experienced people saying they are not happy unless their firewall is completely stealth on all online scans.

Snowbound

5. snowbound

Just to add,

I don't know how to write firewall rules so maybe stealth isn't possible? :doubt:

snowbound

6. LowWaterMark